We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best campsite in the world, but not the worst either”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Pastures Farm
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best campsite in the world, but not the worst either”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Got a very friendly reception and directions to a local pub; told we could stay in either one of two fields.
Field we eventually chose had no caravans to spoil the view (we only have a tent) but plenty of Motorway noise from the M27.
Also children from a big party at the other end of the field (we WERE warned) were encouraged to shout and play football at 6 A.M. by a very inconsiderate father.
Toilet/shower facilities adequate - not a disaster but not brilliant either...
One night's stay cost us £18 for our pitch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_Phil66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

brilliant couldn't fault it very dog friendly, showers a toilets were very clean, didn't find traffic noise a problem . Walks along the common to The Compass pub were very pretty, and the pub serves excellent food at reasonable prices, we loved our stay so sis the dog , will defiantly go back

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loublou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Very noisy , close 2 busy rd , dirty shower/toilets unless you wanna clean them yourself with mop n bucket provided !!
very loud band going on till 3am , which we were not told about , poor lighting round toilet area , had a nasty fall over a disabled toilet wall , owner not interested in what i had to say , other than to say that nobody else had fallen over it .
the site shop consists of a few tins and crisps / chocs on a shelf in office , so if you do go there be advised to go tesco's beforehand , also take plenty of plasters as lighting is poor all over site .

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karrow1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

A fantastic campsite with very clean showers and toilets. The check in was quick and easy and we were given a choice of three pitches. As previously mentioned by another reviewer you are very close to the M27 which isn't an issue during the day as you don't notice the noise but at night the noise was a problem, however we only stayed one night, I am sure it is something you could get used to if you are camping for more than one night. The site is fantastic for closeness to Paulton's Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veebee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

great place to stay for family spacious field clean toilets and showers very friendly informative owners lots of places to go to paultons amusment park just around the corner southampton short drive as well as new forest lovely and relaxing many thanks :-)will definitely come again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolfie02
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Absolutely brilliant. Very friendly owner. No complaints. No cockroaches as per previous review. Any one who knows their bugs will realise they are MAY BUGS!!!! Toilets and showers cleaned everyday. Great family site. Thanks for a great stay Jane and family.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolfie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We arrived at Green Pastures campsite for a short break. we were greeted by the very friendly owner and were allowed to choose our own pitch! After setting up camp the owner came to visit and she was able to direct us to a very lovely local pub (The Compass Inn, Winsor Road) the food was amazing and prices reasonable. However, our view of the campsite changed dramatically when we went to wash up our breakfast bits. We were confronted in the washing up area by more than one cockroach. They were in the sinks, on the floor and on the window sill. They also liked to reside in the men's urinals and on the floor by the showers. The general cleanliness of this site was very poor, despite the website claim that cleanliness was a top priority. In our time at the site the toilets and shower area were not cleaned and you were expected to mop out the shower your self after use! Another negative of this site was whilst you are surrounded by beautiful countryside you are also only 50yds from the M27 which means throughout the day and night all you can hear is traffic. We never once heard the cows in the field near us!

  • Liked — Closeness to great pub and our days out
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.5 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
545 reviews
4.7 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Pastures Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Pastures Farm

Property: Green Pastures Farm
Address: Green Pastures Farm Whitemoor Lane, Romsey SO51 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Romsey
Also Known As:
Green Pastures Farm Hotel Romsey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing