We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay here! Don't hesitate!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Curlews Farm TXOKO

Txoko cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Txoko cottage
Kitchen Kitchen window looks out over Lockerley church
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Txoko cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen window looks out over Lockerley church
Large and  spacious lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1 - Double with views over open coutryside
Bedroom 2 - set up as king-size bedroom with views over open countryside
Bedroom 3 - set up as twin beds
Bathroom
Double shower
Enclosed patio to rear of Txoko with views over Mottisfont estate (NT)
Enclosed patio to rear of Txoko
Txoko kitchen door
Pool
Pool
Pool and patio area
Views within a few minutes walk from the cottage
Views within a few minutes walk from the cottage
Views within a few minutes walk from the cottage
Views within a few minutes walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Romsey, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
denalicat...
Naples, Italy
1 review
“Stay here! Don't hesitate!”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful 3 BR cottage- super clean and beautifully built! We stayed here with 2 families, including 3 toddlers and 1 baby- perfect place. Close to peppa pig world and the new forest. Fun trampoline outside and a pool- although it was too chilly to swim. Helen and her husband were super friendly and helpful.... she even brought us eggs from the chicken coop and some fresh milk when we arrived! Stayed one week- loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thanks for the great review -we loved having you all to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas E
1 review
“Extremely comfortable, well-equipped, family-friendly holiday let in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We (family of two adults and two children aged 7 and 1) stayed at Txoko for five weeks while our house was renovated and it was wonderful. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the shower is excellent and the kitchen is fantastically well-equipped. The space is light and airy with beautiful views, particularly from the sitting room. There are lovely walks to be had from the front door and Romsey, Winchester and Salisbury are only short car journeys away. Helen and Tim (the owners) couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating but were not intrusive. It's just a shame we stayed in January so it was too cold to use the pool!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A beautiful and welcoming cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

From the time we booked and the time we departed everything has been easy and simple. My boys and 3 dogs had a beautiful break with the luxury of room, space, luxurious bathroom and king size beds (my son being 6ft said he could spread without having feet out bed). Everything you needed was thought about and we will be looking forward to another visit in future if Helen and Tim will have us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Tracey
Thank you for the lovely review. We loved having you to stay and look forward to seeing you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G
1 review
“A lovely little cottage run by a really nice couple”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My friends and I stayed in this cottage (along with Little Owls) over the New Year and had a fantastic time.

Helen (the owner) was incredibly helpful. Booking was a very simple process, and Helen was more than happy to answer any questions we had. On arrival, Helen came down to greet us and show us around. Helen and her husband live down the road, which was very convenient when we needed help with something during our stay. They also brought their dog along with them who was lovely!

The cottage itself fantastic, and just what we were after. The rooms were spacious, incredibly clean and tidy and nicely decorated. The kitchen was well fitted, the beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were nice. The under-floor heating did take a while to kick in, but once it did it warmed up the entire cottage very nicely.

It was a bit out the way, but as long as you have a car, and don't mind country roads it'll be no problem. During our stay we visited Lyndhurst and Salisbury, both of which were very pleasant (each approx. 30 minutes drive away).

I would highlight recommend this lovely cottage for anyone looking for a weekend break to the country side.

Thanks again Helen for a lovely stay!!!!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we loved having you all to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
448shazza...
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We went to the house in August for a week, myself, daughter age 10, son age 13. We absolutely loved it. It was spacious, well equipped, had amazing views, has been very well renervated, and the pool is fab.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool
Liked least: The adjoining walls are quite thin, so you can hear people next door from the bedroom
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessP...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Home from Home in the New Forest Area”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just got back from a week at Txoxo Cottage at Curlew's Farm, this place is fabulous.

Home from home comforts plus a heated pool - it has it all. Ideal for families (there was 5 of us: 3 boys 3.10 and 13), with numerous games, washing machine, separate bath and walk-in shower, plus ability to use the shower in the pool room. Outside there is a large garden with giant trampoline.

Fantastic location: 20 minutes from Peppa Pig World, and on the border of the New Forest.

The owners are the best hosts you can possibly imagine, providing complimentary eggs from their chickens, always on hand to give help and advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated Pool
Liked least: No wardrobes, either hang clothes in the 1 coatcupboard in the lounge or use the drawers.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelMatt F
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful home and area”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Txoko is a beautiful house with everything you need. It is very spacious which has been great for our two daughters(4 yr old and 10 month old). Having a pool with an outdoor shower/drying room is great. The trampoline is huge hit with our daughter.
The owners are lovely and were here to greet us on arrival. Many lovely touches to make our stay welcoming - we especially loved the fresh farm eggs;) They went out of their way to make sure we had a bbq we would like. There are many things to do and see in the area.
We would love to stay again and highly recommend it to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing