We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Hayes Restaurant - CLOSED

The Blue Hayes Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Blue Hayes Restaurant is a quaint Thatched Cottage with large wooden beams and a working Inglenook fireplace.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went here for a 60th birthday meal just a few days after xmas. It was a pre selected menu but the food was great. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it was a very cosy and intimate atmosphere. Would like to visit again and order off the al a carte menu. We couldn't help but notice a swimming pool in the garden? Might be worth a visit in the summer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    32
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food - friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food and easy to get to from the m27. Would recommend the weekday a la carte menu. Very friendly welcome on arrival at the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rorschach20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although the restaurant was quiet when we visited (it was during the Olympics/summer holidays) the food was excellent and reasonably priced. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledro, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“buonissimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

excellent food, brilliant and fun staff and pretty dining room!!!
a special greeting to Erik and Sharon!!!
saluti dall'Italia..
Beatrice

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smile92_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We crept out thinking we'd intruded on a wake...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our first time eating out in Romsey we checked in with this rather splendid website for guidance and picked two of the top rated establishments as possibles. The Blue Hayes looks lovely and quaint from the exterior and we thought we'd hit jackpot... as soon as we entered the lobby a slight chill set in and as we tentatively opened the door we encountered a scene akin to God's waiting room and a hushed ambience that wouldn't be out of place in a morgue, despite the place being packed with pale looking pensioners with sunken in features who'd clearly lost the will to live. Imagine the pub on the moor from America Werewolf in London crossed with a poorly run care home and you've just about got the picture... we didn't even get through the inner door before we backed out Scooby Doo style and made a run for our back up establishment, The Bear and Ragged Staff a few minutes away which was lovely and had a lively atmosphere with great food and service... we spent the early part of the evening laughing our heads off at our lucky escape...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
8 Thank Clare Selina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Hayes Restaurant also viewed

 
Sherfield English, Romsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing