We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have just spent 3 days at the White Horse Hotel in Romsey Hampshire and have found the perfect place!
Superb room with thick towelling dressing gowns/ slippers, and quality linen.
The staff are a credit to the company! Nothing is too much trouble, from the reception, bar and restaurant staff to cleaners- there is always a welcome smile! Just what one wants, and appreciates after a hectic schedule!
Excellent choice of menu- and the food is of a high standard also. .Presentation, and quality are very apparent.
We had the Continental Breakfast which was comprehensive. Everything was there. Fresh fruit, ham, cheese,yogurt,,delicious croissants, with fresh pastries,and artisanal honey- all went to make a delicious start to the day!!
Well done White Horse - amazing!! We shall return- thank you!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggagepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest
A huge thank you from all the team for your lovely review. We enjoyed your company and very much look forward to your return visit.
Thank you also for the information you provided it was gratefully received.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 613 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went for afternoon cream tea for my 40th birthday. Fab selection of sandwiches, cakes and tea even had to ask for a doggy bag to take sone cakes home. Well worth the value and brilliant service.
I think it was the Tudor room we sat in and it was lovley will def go again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Leagle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Every restaurant should model themselves on the White Horse Brasserie in the quaint town of Romsey. The staff here went above and beyond my already high standards... they were exceptional!

I made an advance booking over email for my partner's birthday meal and the staff very generously allowed us to dine at a pre-theatre time of 17:15 before the restaurant officially opened. Sophie (my contact) was fantastic and made this possible for us. We were greeted by friendly, well dressed members of staff who took us through to our table.

Unfortunately having arrived late (due to heavy traffic) we were unable to enjoy a leisurely meal and our amazing waiter made sure that we left on time to make the show in Southampton, giving us (life-saving!) directions to help us avoid traffic.

We ordered the chateaubriand and it was out of this world; cooked to perfection and it literally melted in your mouth. The side of carrots with tarragon were a beautiful accompaniment and my partner could not be more happy about how amazing the homemade chips were. They were beautifully crispy on the outside and soft on the inside (as they should be!), whilst the bearnaise sauce was delicious without overpowering the flavour of the meat. Not to mention the bread we were offered arrived freshly baked and the crust was perfectly crispy with a soft centre.

In addition to what was already a fantastic meal, our waiter came to our table with a beautifully presented birthday treat of chocolate brownies.

I cannot express how brilliant our experience here was. It is rare to find a friendly, attentive and helpful restaurant of such high quality and I found the the cost of the food reflected the quality accordingly.

The dining room was beautifully decorated. It has a warmth that is accented by the perfect lighting and the fine dining, modern décor was charming and sophisticated without presenting itself as pretentious.

As I am not local, but I know that I will be making special plans to return here. The White Horse delivered excellence and I am confident that their reliable demeanour will continue to make a special occasion to all who visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation for the fantastic team that I have the pleasure of working with.
Hopefully you will find the time to return in the near future.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food was yet again superb, the venison cooked to perfection and the wine as recommended, perfectly complimented the meal. The meal was truly superb and all praise should go to head chef Chris Rock and his team. I had the leek and prawn tart, whose title belied the fact that it was a light but satisfyingly delicious confection of a starter, an absolute triumph of taste and looks delivering both in equal measure. Breakfast and afternoon tea were equally excellent.

All the staff were charming, friendly and helpful. Over our 3 night stay we experienced, room service, bar service, Brasserie service and reception all of which were excellent. We look forward to booking our next stay.

Our sleep quality was only impeded by inconsiderate guests in the room next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
Chris is a very talented chef and his current menu is a seasonal triumph - your comments are truly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit in the very near future.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from this hotel and really look forward to returning as soon as possible.The hotel is superb in every sense and our room was clean,comfortable and well appointed with an ensuite bathroom that really sealed the deal.We dined in the evening in the hotels "silks" brasserie where each course of our meal was well presented and extremly enjoyable and made even better by the discreet yet attentive staff.The breakfast presentation was again wonderful and extensive in its choice.The one thing that sets this hotel high above any we have stayed at is with out a doubt its staff,from reception through to the bar and brasserie staff and of course housekeeping whom we never met but their hard work was evident in the presentation of our room and the hotels environs which was spotless.A huge thank you to you all for making us feel so welcome and comfortable and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest.
A big thank you from us all for your appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I booked a Winter Wamer package, and were not disappointed. In fact we spent the whole two days wondering how they could offer such a good package. We had a free upgrade to the Penthouse suite and what a fantastic suite. The bedroom and bathroom were enormous, with a most comfortable 6ft bed and Itallian furniture throughout. The set meal was superb and each course was truly magnificent. My salmon was the best I had ever tasted and my husband said the same about his meal too. Next day we had an afternoon tea, and what a treat that was too, wonderful sandwiches, tea and a huge variety of cakes - a real treat. And breakfast, well we both had the full English, and it was wonderful. We couldn't eat an evening meal after the breakfast and afternoon tea! Every member of staff was friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay special. I cannot recommend the Whote Horse enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you! Your review was well received.
The Winter Warmer has been a great success, excellent value and a great way to spend a few days in and around Romsey.
Hope you will return soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

First visit to the White Horse today. My friend and I were half an hour early and starving. This wasn't a problem for the friendly staff and we instantly felt relaxed and ready for cake. Lovely bar area with a range of seating. Cute vintage crockery and a range of sweet items which we couldn't stop looking at. Truly excellent value, attentive service and a great afternoon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
Our afternoon teas are excellent value and extremely popular. I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
519 reviews
6.5 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
600 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range: $178 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing