We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked to come to the White Horse for afternoon tea with my best friends in celebration of my 30th birthday. The booking process etc was really easy, and they were able to provide us with a nut free tea for my friend. Only two small issues in that the room was quite dark, although we adjusted to that quite quickly and it was atmospheric. The only other problem was that we needed to go and get more hot water - no one came to check if we needed anything. In itself that is a bonus (I hate being bothered constantly by people) but we ran out of hot water quite quickly and had to track someone down!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for afternoon tea - amazing cakes, sandwiches etc and all packaged up at the end so we could take what we hadn't eaten home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cofcorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us.
The Tudor Lounge - the room you mention in your review - is a Grade 2 listed area of the hotel with original wall pieces dating back to the 14th Century. Little renovation can be made to this room and lighting has to be kept low to preserve the artwork but it is a lovely cosy area well suited to the tradition of afternoon tea.
My apologies that you were not suitably catered for regarding refills - an area that has now been addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

A most characterful old hotel modernised to a high quality. We had a very comfortable room with an excellent shower, and great range of toiletries and refreshments provided. This was accommodation for my nephew's wedding nearby then a second night enjoying the White Horse's sleepy Sunday special rate. Delicious dinner and the breakfasts are super too.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building. And for very clear directions to the most convenient car park as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMC190727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on TripAdvisor. The hotel was lovingly refurbished over a four year period working within the limits of Grade 2 listing and whilst retaining the character of the old building a vibrant modern scheme runs throughout. I am delighted you were able to take advantage of our very popular Sleepy Sunday off.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had 2 nights at this Hotel for a wedding and a very nice stay we had too. I could not fault our room, breakfast and evening meal, in fact I would go as far to say it was this best meal I have had this year so far. The Saturday night was spent at The White Horse as wedding reception was held there and if it had been my wedding I would have been pleased as 'punch' with the outcome.

Needless to say our Saturday night was not disturbed in anyway by the other guests as everywhere was carpeted throughout.

A thoroughly recommended stay and we will be coming back to The White Horse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Found hotel on the 'net under boutique hotel search
Booked loft suite at their love Friday rate, very good.
Good experience from the start, friendly staff nice room.
Happy hour cocktails were excellent and were taken in the courtyard outside.
Good dinner with attentive staff in a restaurant where the tables were not too close together.
Wine by 250 cl carafe was nice as only one of us drinks.
Being located in centre of quiet town meant a post dinner stroll was pleasant.
Comfortable bed and great shower.
Breakfast next morning had a good buffet and cooked selection. Smoked haddock with poached egg and really fluffy pancakes were a good choice.
Nothing not to like about this place

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tauntonholidayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
The Love Friday offer has proven to be extremely popular and the introduction of our Friday night cocktail night has given it an added attraction - I am delighted you were able to enjoy your cocktails in the courtyard - a rare occasion! We have received some negative feedback in the past regarding our breakfasts but I am glad you took advantage of both the buffet and cooked breakfast as this is our intention with every guest enjoying a full breakfast at the hotel and at £14.50 a real bargain!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We got married at the White Horse in Romsey in 2011. It was the most perfect day, the staff are amazing and everything went so smoothly. The food is delicious and always looks beautiful too. There are some amazing bedrooms, some are really quirky and the bridal suite is amazing - as big as my house ;-)

We recently celebrated our 2nd Anniversary with dinner in the Brasserie. Again we were very well looked after and recieved a complimentary glass of bubbly and a gorgeous pudding platter from the Hotel!

I always have a wonderful time when visiting and cannot rate the venue and the staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a quirky room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Em79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review - I cannot believe it is two years since your wedding!
Congratulations to you both and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We hired the Private Chefs Dining room in the hotel for my partners 50th Birthday to host a small cocktail party. The room was perfect, the team at the hotel set the room up to our exact requirements. The evening was a great success and the team at the hotel were very attentive and looked after us very well. A good night was had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest
Delighted the evening was a success and everyone enjoyed themselves. Definately the way to celebrate in style!
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The father's day menu' was attractive and well priced with a good selection of starters main courses and sweets to chose from. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We'll definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank giovannipietrangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your complimentary review of Fathers Day.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
369 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
901 reviews
6.5 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range: $173 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing