We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hampshire Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Harold Hillier Gardens

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Hampshire Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Hillier's Arboretum on a beautiful October day, only intending a brief visit we stayed all day. The trees are many and varied with the majority showing information and the species. There are some absolutely magnificent an stunning trees and of course this is complimented by attractive borders. We were particularly taken with the extensive range of Crab Apple trees in all thier Autumn splendor.

The cafe/restaurant served fresh coffe and locally produiced food with generous portions. Well done Hillier's and Hampshire County Council!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    112
    16
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Long Walk and a Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hillier Gardens are somewhere I should have visited much sooner. They are extensive and beautiful and popular without being overcrowded. I was there primarily for sculpture rather than plants and flowers but the beautifully landscaped hectares made a perfect setting for the 80+ sculptures in the annual Art in the Garden exhibition. The entry price (currently £9.10) is very reasonable for such a joyous experience. The gardens are very walkable compared to some with no reasonable access denied. This was a place you might want to visit 4-5 times a year just to see the seasons change. The cafe is pleasant with, apparently, plenty of seating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John_Oram_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful garden to visit for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I visited the gardens for the first time with our son in law and 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 4 who are season ticket holders and visit on a regular basis. We live in the North West and it was a great delight to find such an interesting garden with a glorious selection of mature trees some of which were showing off their autumn colours. The head gardener deserves praise for the imagination and thought that has gone into making this such a special place. The tree house is a wonderful idea , a great favourite of the children as indeed are the other child friendly areas, not to mention the freedom the children have for adventure , hiding and exploring amongst the trees, foliage, bamboo, and the obstacle course set for them to climb through without ringing a bell. It is a child's ideal place to be. The lovely centenary border still bursting with colour this late in the season was most enjoyable. An absolute joy to have visited this lovely garden and we shall be back to visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place to take wheelchair bound older person”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My friend(89 yrs today) chose this place to spend the morning then have lunch despite the overcast drizzly day. We were suitably dressed and loved the paths, the sculptures, the trees, flowers and the wildlife. Itwas very wheelchair friendly and we could see most of the gardens from well defined decent pathways with easy inclines-wonderful. The only negative was the restaurant's Lamb Wellington we had chosen for lunch which required a hacksaw to cut through it served with green beans that were barely unfrozen from their packet-the accompanying potatoes,other vegetables and Hollandaise sauce were lovely.A disappointing finale to an otherwise lovely day-the chef was spoken to who did offer us a replacement but we didnt feel like taking the risk!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolineHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Went by coach and signage and drop off pick up excellent.
The gardens are large and can be described as parkland in some areas.
In all areas the plant labelling is very good especially the map supplied with current interest plants.
The ongoing works shows a commitment to the future by Hampshire CC which is heartening.
The two refreshment areas were good and value for money.
Overall a great day out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mussons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Harold Hillier Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing