We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romsey Abbey”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Romsey Abbey

Romsey Abbey
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The little market town of Romsey features a rare and intact medieval hall house that was part of Romsey Abbey (circa 1120 AD,) and which today serves as the center for Anglican worship and civic events.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Romsey Abbey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I used to work in Romsey and often visit the town but I hadn't been to the Abbey for a few years till I went with a friend last year. The Abbey is very imposing and the interior has a sense of calm and peace which I used to really enjoy when I was working and sat there for a while during my lunch breaks before going back to the office.

Helpful?
Thank Sunflowers159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    63
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This ancient abbey is steeped in local and national history. Beautiful, peaceful. Combine with tea and home made cakes at St John's House and Gardens (12th century hunting lodge opposite the Abbey).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“absolutely outstanding, yet rarely visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Romsey Abbey has a fascinating and long history. It is an extraordinarily beautiful and peaceful building, with fascinating architecture, fine stained glass, a host of interesting features and regular concerts. It is rarely busy which, selfishly, adds to the atmosphere. It's a deeply moving experience just to sit in it. It's an impertinence to review it as an attraction. If you're anywhere in Hampshire with half a day to spare, just go and breathe it in. It's a neglected treasure. The staff on duty, by the way, are exceptionally welcoming. And it's free! But leave a donation.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank forester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you are visiting the Test Valley and its various sites and walks like Stockbridge to Romsey you should stop in and visit this wonderful old Abbey with beautiful architecture.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank yuringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Romsey Abbey does not need a review. This is our heritige. Just go in and sit to absorb the last 1000 years. Reinvigourates the soul.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigandChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romsey Abbey also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Romsey Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing