We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Queues”
Review of Paultons Park

Paultons Park
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Paultons Park - home of Peppa Pig World is a family theme park located in the New Forest National Park in Hampshire, with over 70 rides and attractions. Home to a world first and UK exclusive, Peppa Pig World has 7 rides & attractions including, Peppa's Big Balloon Ride, George's Dinosaur Adventure an indoor soft play zone. Other rides and attractions at Paultons include, the dinosaur theme park Lost Kingdom, the Edge and Cobra roller coasters, the Water Kingdom splash park, adventure golf, La 4D cinema, The Raging River Ride and many smaller rides for young children.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Long Queues”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Saturday (we both work) and suffered terrible queues from 11-1300. We have two young toddlers so went to Peppa Pig World. Out of our first two hours most of it was spent queuing and we only managed 2 rides! The main entrance building is currently being rebuilt so there was not enough indoor space when it rained. Getting lunch was similar to the rides with another 45 minute queue. The people working there were very slow to get food out and when it did come out it was cold. The only good news is the rain put everyone else off and after 1400 had a lot more fun enjoying the rides which are perfect for toddlers. The muddy puddles are fun as well. Hopefully it is less busy during week days!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that you had fun enjoying the rides in the afternoon and found them perfect for toddlers too.

More guests do visit the Park on a weekend, however we also have attractions in Peppa Pig World with no waiting, like the Indoor Playzone, outdoor Adventure Playground, Peppa's House and the photo / character studios. We also have a top tips guide on our website to help plan your day advising to visit Peppa Pig World either first thing or later in the afternoons on busier days.

Our main restaurant is being re-built at the moment (due to open Spring 2014) other places to eat at the Park include the Station Restaurant, Railroad Diner & Daddy Pig's Big Tummy Cafe, plus smaller food outlets. We would be happy to handle any specific enquiries about food served at the time of purchase.

The Theme Park is based outdoors, so on wetter days we do advise guests to bring along brollys, hats and coats to help keep dry. We also have covered eating areas, an indoor playzone & tree cover around the Park.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,706
    1,452
    321
    103
    109
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try to avoid if raining”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited in September with our 2 and 3 year old Boys. Peppa Pig world was fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.
We were unfortunate to get caught in a heavy rain shower whilst queuing for the Balloon ride and when it was our turn to get on, the seats were soaking; we asked the attendant if they had a cloth to wipe the seats and they said they were not supplied with cloths. This meant everyone including the little ones got extremely wet so I advise you to take a spare towel.
My only other moan would be the spaceship, when raining everyone and their pushchairs seek cover. As you can imagine it gets extremely busy and most people get a hot drink which is allowed. However quite a few people leave their hot drinks unattended so you have to really watch your children.
We also went to paulton park section, Gardens really beautiful lots of lovely animals for the children and my little boys loved the digger and seal rides.
To sum it up rather pricy compared to other adventure parks but is an excellent day out if the weather is nice.
I’d be interest to know why Paultons Park do not join the Tesco clubcard exchange or as another reviewer mention 2 for 1 offer as many other theme parks do.
I’m sure if they did lot more family’s on a budget would go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found Peppa Pig World fantastic! Hopefully we can help with some of the points raised.

Rides are wiped down where possible, however this can increase waiting times on busier days so it is not always possible. We advise guests to bring along hats, coats and brollys when it rains to help keep dry.

When it rains, guests do often head for cover like the indoor play zone, we also have undercover seating areas around the Park and tree cover in the gardens. It is difficult to monitor individual guests hot drinks, however the majority of parents tend to keep drinks in their hands/close by.

We tend to keep our prices at one level rather than increasing them and then discounting back with loyalty card vouchers or 2 for 1 schemes like other Parks. The tickets offer great value as include entry to over 60+ rides and attractions across Paultons and Peppa Pig World.

We hope this helps and look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards,
Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day for my 14 mth old baby”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent full day at peppa world and was great. Managed to go on all rides more than once. Apart from two rides, baby could participate in them all. Favourite was the indoor slides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lohon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that you and your family had a great day and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous time and good value”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We prebooked online, and received a reduction of £3 per ticket. Although they add on a £1 booking fee per transaction, we still saved £5 (2 adults, little girl was free as under 1m tall). It is simple to buy the tickets and you can either print at home or show on your smartphone at the gates. The attraction is well signposted from the M27 and parking is plentiful. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to chat to our little girl. We only visited the Peppa Pig section of the park, which took around 3.5 hours, as we had a long drive home, but feel that even just that small section represented good value for what we paid. The theming was fantastic and we both commented it was on a par with some of the Disney parks in this aspect. The rides were good fun and all suitable for our little girl (she is not quite 2) apart from George's Dinosaur Ride which is for 90cm +. Queues were between 10 - 20 minutes long (on a Saturday in October, would expect longer in summer!) but plenty to look at while waiting. The park itself was spotlessly clean. We took a picnic and there were plenty of benches to eat at. We didn't try the food outlets but they didn't seem ridiculously expensive - ice creams or cups of tea approx £2, meals £6ish for a McDonalds "Extra Value meal" equivalent. Toilet facilities were more than adequate and well stocked with loo roll and soap with baby changes available too. Gift shop was good and again not extortionate - pyjama sets started at £8 for 2-3 years and soft toys £7 and up. We can't wait to go again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted that you had a fabulous time and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Kind regards,
Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Rip off!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to Paultons Park just to take our 3yr old to Peppa Pig World. I purchased 3 advance tickets but when we got there we found our son was free as he was under 1 metre. We were given a web replacement ticket as refunds aren't given??? Given the fact we had driven 250 miles to get there we will not be going back so needless to say the web ticket went in the bin. Also I was charged £1 for booking online - I used a debit card and have never had that before!!!
We went into Peppa Pig World and it was nice with the Peppa music playing. The queues were short but I imagine it'd be a nightmare in the summer holidays. We went on Miss Rabbits helicopter and the seats were soaking. I had to take my coat off and put it on the seat so my 3yr old could be comfortable. Peppa Pig World is good for kids who are into Peppa. Peppa & George come out twice a day but they just stood on the decking and didn't come out to meet kids for photos. Take a tip from Disney - put barriers up and let the children meet the characters. Apparently in the summer other characters walk around the park. Makes no difference to the price though whether they appear or not. The Muddy Puddles but wasn't open - I was told it was weather dependant. It was a nice warm day when we went so not sure when it's open? Again this didn't make a difference in the price. We went to the rest of Paultons Park which was quite poor. The rides were rubbish and there was only one eating place open - again this was a rip off!!! The only reason I am giving it 3 stars is because my little boy enjoyed PP World. Otherwise I'd have given it a 1.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that your little one enjoyed Peppa Pig World.

We are sorry to hear that you found that your child was under 1 metre when you arrived and free of charge. The information is stated throughout the website and we advise guests to measure children when wearing shoes before purchasing tickets - we are pleased to be able to offer a replacement ticket as a gesture of goodwill though. A £1 booking fee applies per transaction to cover the cost of processing your transaction securely online and the charges that your bank applies when using a debit or credit card.

We are sorry that your seat was wet due to the rain. Unfortunately the weather is not something that we are able to control however where possible rides are wiped down, so long as not to affect waiting times.

Due to their popularity it is not possible for Peppa and George to individually spend time with every guest, however they appear on stage each day and children can shake their hands & have their photograph taken if they wish.

Muddy Puddles is a water splash Park designed for the summer season as advertised. The Station Restaurant, Daddy Pig's Big Tummy Cafe and and Railroad Diner are open for guests who wish to dine at the Park. We are also in the process of building a brand new large family restaurant at the main entrance to the Park to replace the now closed Wagoners restaurant.

We are sorry that you found the rides in Paultons Park 'rubbish' - many families very much enjoy these rides and attractions designed for younger children including coasters, tower rides, water rides, track rides, a 4D cinema, walk through attractions like Land of the Dinosaurs, plus beautiful gardens, birds and animals to enjoy. This year we were voted the top rated theme park in the UK thanks to reviewers on Trip Advisor and awarded a Mumsnet Best accreditation.

We hope that you decide to visit again soon,

Kind regards,
Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paultons Park also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Paultons Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing