We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming for toddlers”
Review of Paultons Park

Paultons Park
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Paultons Park - home of Peppa Pig World is a family theme park located in the New Forest National Park in Hampshire, with over 70 rides and attractions. Home to a world first and UK exclusive, Peppa Pig World has 7 rides & attractions including, Peppa's Big Balloon Ride, George's Dinosaur Adventure an indoor soft play zone. Other rides and attractions at Paultons include, the dinosaur theme park Lost Kingdom, the Edge and Cobra roller coasters, the Water Kingdom splash park, adventure golf, La 4D cinema, The Raging River Ride and many smaller rides for young children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming for toddlers”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Paultons Park twice in 2012 and enjoyed both visits. We went with a two year old obsessed with Peppa Pig so Peppa Pig World (PPW) was ideal for her. I am not sure what the park was like before PPW but it now dominates proceedings. I would estimate that 75% of the park visitors turned right as soon as they got in and headed for PPW.

PPW is charming and reflects the honesty, simplicity and family values of the TV programme. You will love it because your toddlers will love it! It gets very busy at weekends with longish queues for the rides. Not sure about midweek but suspect it will still be busy with the pre school age PP fans. All the rides are worth going on and are "free" once you pay to get in. I felt admission price was steep when I paid but after a full day there, I considered it value for money.

There is a lot to see and do apart from PPW but I have to say we spent most of our time in PPw. There are a few animal enclosures, a super train ride and lots of water based activities that would be great on a summer day.

Restaurant facilities offer extensive menu choice and quality. However, theme park prices apply. But there is tons of space for picnics and the extensive free parking areas can easily be reached from inside the park so you don't need to lug eskies and hampers round with you all day.

Paultons Park looks as if it has expanded gradually over the years. PPW has probably transformed it in a short period so I know there have been major building works over the winter to cope with the increased footfall.

PPW occupies about 10% of the park and there is much to do for older kids in the other 90%. We intend visiting once or twice a year for the forseeable futue and I can't wait for our little one to outgrow PPW so that we can explore the park more fully.

Well worth a family visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oldchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,909
    1,498
    332
    106
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

brilliant place, very clean, safe with loads to do! Perfect for younger children, especially if they love Peppa Pig!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good day out with the children.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

There was a lot to do, and not enough time.So it's best to go early, to make the most of the day. Especially as there was a long queue at every ride.
My children are 3 and 5, so they loved it as there were many rides suitable for their age. Husband and I had great fun too on the rides.
3 year old daughter was terrified of Peppa Pig when she made an appearance while 5 year old loved it.
Very expensive though. When we thought we had spent enough money, we sneaked out quietly, only to bump into a girl selling character balloons at the exit. So spent another fortune on balloons, he he. But no regrets , we all had a great day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank N2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it here”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

You cannot help but like this place! My childre are 4 and 2 and we have visited twice. Perfect for families with children under 7 or 8 in my opinion. I think a 10 year old for example would enjoy but only if they had a younger sibling to visit with. I find a lot of places say they are geared up for toddlers but in reality they are not. Peppa Pig world offers great value for families with very young children as you can take them even everything as a family together.
A few handy tips, (i hope!)
1 - Get there early and if possible go through the week. We arrived at 9:50 in the car on a Monday and there was already a que forming to get into the carpark.
2 - Take a packed lunch, there is planty of space for picnics either in PPW or the rest of Paultons Park and it is not frowned upon either. The food is not great as the choice is limited and a very small cafe. We made sure our kids had eaten before we arrived so that they could just go straight on everything with no break!
3 - The indoor soft play is great but gets very busy, if possible do that first then when people are starting to eat lunch the rides and ques (which aren't that long anyway) become available.
4 - If you visit in the warmer months take kids smimming costumes and towels the splash park is great. We visited in June the first time and I noticed a lot of upset children who had no swimming stuff or towels as parents didn't realise - I had noticed a review and was so pleased the person mentioned it!
5 - If your little ones get tired easily but you don't want the hassle of a buggy you can hire a plastic push along car and can obviously return to the reception whenever you want to get rid of it. We avoided a buggy second time around as youngest barely needed it and saved one of us standing with it.

*BOOK YOUR TICKETS ONLINE, YOU SAVE MONEY AND GET IN QUICKER! If you live within an hour or so of hear pay for the annual pass you will get your monies worth i'm sure!* Hope this all helps.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 235katie_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good day out with younger children”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There's a lot to do, different activities and rides and plenty of choice for those visiting with smaller children. Peppa Pig World was particularly good for very small children although this is where all the long queues are - we left this bit until later when the queues had begun to get shorter; the rides are good for small children but the long waits really aren't!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AliRoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paultons Park also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Paultons Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing