We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

The Old House at Home
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked for ten members of the family to celebrate my birthday. The table was nicely set with linen napkins and flowers. The staff were most attentive and the food served quickly. Everyone said how good the meal was. We had the Sunday lunch. My daughter had the Yorkshire with mushrooms and chestnuts and thought it one of the best vegetarian meals she had ever had.
We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    115
    27
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
247 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent food with great service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Four of us visited on the recommendation of our B&B hosts. We were not disappointed.the menu is varied...we had starters of goats cheese salad, prawns and the pâté. For mains we had cod with chorizo and haddock with poached egg. All absolutely delicious. Service was great- balance between efficient yet friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank GillyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I expected to have a great meal here, but sadly it didn't come up to expectations, the reviewers previously had said how good it was, well I was disappointed.
The food was cold having to send it back to be re-heated, the meal also took ages to arrive after placing the order over an hour for a pub ?
The quality of the starter was questionable and I suspect these weren't fresh but frozen produce.
I felt the staff were OK apologising for the delay, but after the reviews we didn't think this was acceptable in a well established pub.
I can't find anything to rave about this pub I thought it was rather poor and ceratainly wont be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lewisSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“take friends out for good food and friendly welcome”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The ladies from my work place always have a lunch or a farewell meal and even birthday meals here.
We have never had a bad meal yet, and staff and landlady and landlord are very lovely people , always make,s us welcome. best place in romsey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roz402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable and accommodating as ever!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lunch for six returning guests was first class. The staff were understanding of two of our party's special food needs and really went out of their way to ensure they, and the rest of us, had excellent lamb and a selection of bar meals. Our guests commented on how lucky we were to have great local, serving good quality wholesome food on our doorstep. We will be returning soon and have no problem endorsing the Old House at Home to anyone who appreciates quality food at a reasonable prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btpr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old House at Home also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
Sherfield English, Romsey
 

Been to The Old House at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing