We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most unfriendly B&B we have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering
Ranked #6 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very interesting house but wish we could say the same for the owners. They were most unfriendly and curt. We felt as though everything was a bother and I dreaded having to talk to them. After enjoying the company of some of the other guests at breakfast, the owner came in to clear the table at around 10;10 and seemed put out. When we mentioned something about having a lot to talk about,she said something to the effect of the problem was that the other people had to be checked out by 10;30 "as do you". When we saw Mr. Hughes for the first time in the morning, he didn't even acknowledge us and turned and walked into the kitchen. When I called the week before our arrival to confirm the reservation and ask if we could drop off some of our luggage that was visible in the car, Mrs. Hughes asked if I had read their check-in policies. I was not asking to get into the room early but just to drop off a couple of cases. Other B&Bs were more than happy to accommodate the same request. This B&B was an extremely disappointing end to our trip. Neither Mr. nor Mrs. Hughes has the personality to run a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank obriensunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely accommodation and Anthea was always helpful when contacting her.
My only gripe was that whilst staying at Morningside (we also hired The Granary) and using the shower (amazing bathroom), there was very limited curtains/netting on the windows to save your dignity. Whilst showering I had to cover myself up as they started to mow the lawn. My sister was also caught when other visitors at the accommodation walked in what we had presumed was the garden of Morningside. So our only feedback would be to provide wider curtains/netting so that we are not caught in the nudey by other visitors if they wander past!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Heading to the south of England from central Scotland, we needed something to accommodate various family members who would all meet up for the weekend, travelling from all parts of the UK.

Easy to find if using the owners website directions and only minutes off the motorway network. Only a few minutes drive from Romsey so eating out and shopping were easy.

Lovely old building with loads of character. Naturally one sacrifices some of the latest and most modern touches to keep in character with the age and nature of the old farm house, but in reality the character of the building and lovely gardens more than compensate.

Good off road parking in the farm yard, which would accommodate a fleet of cars.

Friendly folk very willing to help out and with good local knowledge.

Bottom line, would we go back...
Yes.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fantastic place, we found our hosts to be delightful. We stayed in "Morningside" a self catering barn conversion that was stunning inside and out. Lots of olde world charm with all mod cons, the huge bathroom certainly had wow factor (bigger than the blue banana). The weather was very warm during our stay so the French doors leading onto the wonderful grounds with garden furniture was an added bonus. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in The Granary as self-catering, paying £90 a night. No-one there to greet us when we arrived sometime after 5pm; had to search to find the key in an outbuilding. Expected a high standard of kitchen facilities for that money, but equipment was all old and not particularly efficient. No tea towels or anything to mop up spills. No coffee except a few sachets. Only one cereal bowl! Used towels had been left in one of the bedrooms along with fresh ones. Nowhere to put any clothing, except on hooks behind doors, or two small drawers in one of the bedrooms.....we needed to have taken clothes hangers. Contact with the owners happened briefly when they returned home on our first day, everso briefly when we left and a chance meeting one morning to ask where we were going for the day. The unit was not serviced all the time we were there. Even our bill was left behind the knocker on the door in the pouring rain!
We managed, but only because we were efficient and knew that we wouldn't go back. We've stayed in cheaper, friendlier and far better self-catering. For the money we spent here, we could have gone into a good quality B&B elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are self-catering,find somewhere else. If you want friendly service, this isn't the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallwhitehairlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from Hampshire and stayed at Ranvilles Farmhouse near Romsey for 2 nights. We had travelled down from Lancashire for a wedding anniversary in the area.
Charming host and hostess who were most helpful with anything we needed. They were great with suggestions of places to go and the directions to get there.
The house and gardens just delightful to see. Would certainly recommend it as a superb place to stay. Breakfasts so good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break with my parents and 3 year old son. We could not have been made more welcome. The farmhouse itself is beautiful, around 500 years old and full of character with exquisite decor. The location is great, along a dual carriageway with quick access to the local town, Romsey. Though it's close to the road, it's very peaceful and surrounded by fields and stunning gardens.

We stayed in Morningside which is a self contained, self catering barn fully equipped with all the amenities you could wish for; dishwasher, washing machine, Sky tv, DVD player etc. again the decor was stunning and the bathroom had the 'wow factor' with a large double walk in shower, Stand alone bath and double sinks.

I'm a little confused as to some of the previous reviews as we found our hosts; Bill and Anthea to be lovely, warm characters of whom, nothing was too much trouble. We were welcome into their living quarters to let my son see some new puppies and they would happily spend time chatting with you and enquiring all about your stay.

Breakfast was superb. Home cooked, fresh local produce, with eggs from the chickens they keep. This was served in a beautiful dining room, with a great choice of fresh breads, cereals, yogurts and a delicious homemade rhubarb compote.

We all agreed, it was the little touches which made this B&B stand out. A water bottle in a drawer in my parents room, a little plate with some apples and a knife in the room. Our barn was self catering and yet we had a cupboard with breakfast cereals, coffee, milk and a wonderful selection of teas. A wallet full of DVD's to watch. On leaving, Anthea kindly gave me some home grown rhubarb as I'd said I loved her compote.

Altogether a wonderful break, absolutely made by stunning surroundings and lovely hosts. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Morningside, a self catering barn and would recommend this for its stunning decor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romsey hotels
0 mi away
Ha'penny Acre B&B
Ha'penny Acre B&B
#1 of 1 in Sherfield English
10 reviews
0 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
375 reviews
0 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Palmerston Rooms
The Palmerston Rooms
#2 of 19 in Romsey
60 reviews
0 mi away
Woodpeckers B&B
Woodpeckers B&B
#4 of 19 in Romsey
67 reviews
0 mi away
The Cromwell Arms
The Cromwell Arms
#1 of 19 in Romsey
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering

Address: Romsey SO51 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range: $109 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing