We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering
Ranked #6 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Ranvilles is a delightful, quirky, charming place to stay. The room we were given was spacious and clean with lots of great touches such as an antique chaise longue and a bookcase of fascinating old books. Breakfast was a delight and Anthea made us (and our dog) very welcome.
The B and B rate is very good for such a special place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were fortunate to get a big family room booking on the day we wanted to stay. It was a suite in fact, comprising two bedrooms both ensuite, and a lounge / kitchenette all in the converted loft of one of the old farm's outbuildings. The farm itself is over 500 years old, and full of character, brimming with antiques and fine art, and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The only complaint we'd have is that it was bitterly cold at night. At meal times, there is plenty of great food on offer, much of it home grown or locally sourced. The bacon was awesome. It's also great value for money. A gem of a place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a really nice B and B which is in a rural spot, but very close to main motorway links. It is 5 minutes from Peppa Pig World, and children are warmly welcomed. Very reasonable B and B rate for the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were welcomed warmly to Ranvilles by Anthea. Ranvilles Farmhouse is a beautiful home set in lovely gardens just a few minutes drive from Romsey. Our room was tasefully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat. Anthea provided an excellent cooked breakfast to order direct from the Aga,there was also fruit compote made from fruits from the garden, homemade marmalade and locally sourced honey. We were working in the local area and found the comfortable atmosphere at Ranvilles to be a home from home after a busy day. Anthea's knowledge of local restaurants led to sound recommendations that provided us with good meals each evening. We would have no hesitation about returning to Ranvilles or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

After a tiring journey, arriving at this beautiful farmhouse immediately made us feel relaxed. We had a friendly welcome from Anthea the owner and were shown to a comfortable spacious room. The breakfast was fantastic and included homemade rhubarb and redcurrant compote and eggs from the farms hens. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianandanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at Ranvilles with a group of friends on a cycling trip and had a really lovely time. The farmhouse itself is so unique, it was just a breath of fresh air compared to faceless hotels in uniform colour schemes. Anthea is also full of chararcter but in a good way! She made us very welcome and was incredibly accomodating when we had a bit of a difficult situation with a last minute cancellation. She provided storage for our bikes and generally helped in any way she could. The breakfast was really tasty, with homemade fruit compote available and a whole range of choices, all eaten around a grand table which encouraged us to socialise with fellow guests. Whilst not an easy walk, Ranvilles is literally a couple of miles from Romsey which has a really good range of different restaurants, and taxi fares were very reasonable so this didn't prove to be a problem for us. The whole wider area is very picturesque and I thoroughly recommend it for scenic, if a bit hilly cycling! We have booked to return to Ranvilles (without bikes this time) as we felt it was such a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elcatgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed as a group of friends, 8 of us, and had a lovely time. Anthea welcomed us and showed as our room, which was a lovely room, in fact all the rooms that our party booked were very nice and very clean.
The breakfast was very tasty and enjoyable, with fresh fruit from the garden.

We had bikes with us and were were given a secure storage for them,

We would return when in that area again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venices11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romsey hotels
1.3 mi away
The Cromwell Arms
The Cromwell Arms
#1 of 19 in Romsey
345 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ha'penny Acre B&B
Ha'penny Acre B&B
#1 of 1 in Sherfield English
10 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
1.8 mi away
The Palmerston Rooms
The Palmerston Rooms
#2 of 19 in Romsey
63 reviews
3.6 mi away
Woodpeckers B&B
Woodpeckers B&B
#4 of 19 in Romsey
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering

Address: Romsey SO51 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range: $116 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing