We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish”

The White Horse Brasserie
Ranked #13 of 78 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse Brasserie opens onto its own delightful courtyard. The acclaimed 2AA Rosette brasserie is a wonderful place to enjoy every occasion from a romantic dinner for two to a family lunch. Head Chef Chris Rock's accomplished menu serves modern British classics following the seasons.
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stylish”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have dined many times at lunchtime in the restaurant and have always enjoyed the ambience. I have always had the set lunch and, although the portions are small, the food is always so beautifully cooked and presented. If you have all three courses you would not be left hungry. The tables are always so well set and the glasses, cutlery and china spotlessly clean with 'proper' linen napkins and tableware. (The choice of salted and unsalted butter is a nice touch). The wines are excellent and are equally well served. The overall decor and atmosphere are stylish and welcoming with pleasent staff. I like the fact that the hotel has retained many of its original features yet kept apace with modern thinking and adheres to Romseys' adage of 'where town and country mee'.t

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovesweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you from all the team for your very complimentary review.
I hope you continue to visit and enjoy!
Best wishes and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chandlers ford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Anniversary Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This visit was for our friends Wedding Anniversary. As the weather this year has been so good we have had some very good afternoon teas.
All four of us totally agreed that the afternoon tea at the White Horse was most certainly the best.
It was a pretty miserable afternoon weather wise but on being seated at our table we soon felt transported to paradise. The table was laid with a crisp white cloth and napkins. The waitress was very friendly and explained that we could have any choice of teas or coffees and there was certainly a very varied selection. The sandwiches were freshly made with smoked salmon cheese ham and egg. As I do not eat fish or cheese the kitchen catered for my needs.
The cake stand well where do you start not one but two freshly baked scones one plain the other fruit the scones were served with clotted cream strawberry jam and the most delicious lemon curd that all four of us agreed was heavenly it was so light and fresh to the taste nothing like the stodge that comes in a jar from the supermarkets.
To follow there was an array of various home made cakes and tarts.
Needless to say we could not eat all these lovely cakes and the staff did make up carry home bags for us. We had extra coffee and we were not charged any extra.
I will have know doubt that we will be returning in the near future.
This is truly an amazing place to visit and the staff are so welcoming from the two girls on reception to the bar staff and waiting staff. We must not forget the staff in the kitchen because at the end of the day they are the ones that actually makes the occasion a winner.
Thank you to you all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you from all the team for a very complimentary review.
Best wishes and kind regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Elegance, Two Rosette food, and first class service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our welcome in the bar was swift, friendly, relaxed and professional . We opted for wines by the glass as they offer a particularly good selection and we were heading for differing menu choices.
Sure, wine by the glass can be risky, but absolutely no problem here.
These days The White Horse is a very well maintained property indeed. The Brasserie is one of the most elegant dining places in Hampshire and when we moved through to our table it was looking its best. On a very warm summer evening, tables were laid out into the courtyard and several couples were outside enjoying cocktails and tapas.
Looking round, our choices from the new menu seemed popular. I had crispy pigs cheek for starter and pigeon breast as main. Both were well up to Two Rosette standard.. The pigeon breasts were perfectly cooked, flavourful and succulent. Desserts were equally good. Service throughout was swift and efficient.
Overall a very pleasant evening - and the bill wasn't heart stopping either. A credit to the kitchen and the front of house team.
PS I can also recommend the light bar lunches - the same high standards apply.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
Your complimentary comments are very encouraging and I am delighted you enjoyed your dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and was very happy with the quality of the food and service. We eat pig cheek for out starter and venison and wood pigeon for main and all our courses were highly delicious. The cost for our meal was reasonable considering the food and surroundings. We will be going there again for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
I am delighted you both enjoyed your evening and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK for Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had read lots about their Sunday Roast so we decided to give itg a try a couple of weekends ago.
The staff were welcoming and friendly, the ambiance was fine, although we were a little dissapointed with the decor. The round tables of 4 or more were dressed with white table cloths but the smaller sqaure ones seating two (or that had been pulled together for 4 or more) were not. If only they'd dressed the entire restaurant it would have made the setting far better.
The food was ok...but nothing to brag about. Just the normal run of the mill Sunday lunch as far as we were concerned, and for the price, we've had better food and value elsewhere in the area so doubt we'll be back here in a hurry.
Somewhat dissapointed given the advertising and hype!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warthog4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry that you found your visit disappointing on this occasion. In our advertising we do promote our 2 AA rosette status but we do not promote ourselves as fine dining hence the more relaxed approach to clothing every table.
We do hope that you will consider a second visit.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing