We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch”
Review of La Parisienne

La Parisienne
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family Lunch”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We used to come here often, but probably best part of 10 years since we were last here. Decor and ambient hasn't changed a bit, which is ideal - it always feels like a brasserie in Paris. We had lunch for 7 people. Service was very swift as we were in early at 12.30. We had 6 excellent main courses (2 x turbot, 1 x salmon, 1 x sea bass, 2 x entrecôte) and 1 disappointing which was my filet steak béarnaise which I ordered Medium and came charcoaled on outside from too long lon the griddle; the burnt taste overpowered everything else. Desserts were good. Overall a very pleasant restaurant with French waiting staff, but disappointing they couldn't carry the quality all the way through, especially as the filet was the most expensive dish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChaletChevran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    116
    43
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A French night out..”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderfully authentic feel this restaurant has, full of vibrant character and jour de vie.

Choice of French food on the menu is excellent, and selection of wine 1st class.

The restaurant always seems busy, booking essential at weekends, very lively in the evenings. The staff are always attentive, and very knowledgeable about choice of food & wine.

This could be any good restaurant in Paris, and, quite a find in a small market town the size of Romsey.

We would eat there again, and recommend to anyone looking for a good authentic French restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great time had by all”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Fabulous meal at La P last night ! Love the ambiance and as ever the great service from the warm and welcoming team. Always a great night out. Thank you and see you soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the authenticity”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As a long time customer of La P, I felt it was time to write about it! If you want the authentic French atmosphere look no further. The food is amazing and takes me back to my French travels, it is consistently good and the desserts are to die for. I miss this place but look forward to going back next time I am in England.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic french family run restaurant.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Although 60. Miles from my home if I crave an authentic taste of France this is the restaurant to visit.From the French owner and all the french staff it is fabulous. I decor is typical Parissienne,very nostalgic .The food is consistently great ,all my family ask to go back including my parents in law. My one dilemma is how can I visit more often,wish we lived closer. Yum yum highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parisienne also viewed

 
Braishfield, Romsey
 

Been to La Parisienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing