We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a summer's evening”
Review of The Harrow

The Harrow
Ranked #9 of 69 Restaurants in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for a summer's evening”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Harrow has a beautiful garden, full of flowers both in the flower beds and in jars on the tables. The menu is limited but the food is fresh and home made and the portions very generous. The pub is small inside and packed with character.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a trip back in time”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

my daughter took me here on beautiful day in June last year it was idyllic we sat in the superb cottage garden and enjoyed the best rare roast beef sandwiches I have had in years with glasses of pimms adorned with fresh cherries .This place is just perfect tiny but perfectly formed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very cliquey, unfriendly, unwelcoming place”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've lived within 20 minute walking distance of this pub for the last 14 years. The staff seem to think they are doing customers a favour by serving people; they have a superior attitude and regard customers as a nuisance in my experience. Whilst the building may be 'cute' 'rustic', that in itself is not sufficient reason to go there.

I would not go there again. I will be spending my money in a pub that values its customers; there are plenty of them around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hotelstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowplain
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem - ye olde worlde pub.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived at the pub just after midday for lunch & thankfully we did, within a few minutes the room we were in was packed. As perfect strangers in what one could call a "local pub" we were welcomed by the owner & the regulars together with a roaring fire.

We ordered a ham salad & three bowls of soup as well as drinks. When the salad arrived it was served on a large oval plate & I have never seen so much meat on a plate of salad as well as a full plate of lettuce, tomatoes etc etc. The ham was perfectly cooked & cut off the joint & it just melted in ones mouth as you were eating it. The soup was lovely - fully homemade [just as I remember as a child] with pulses, ham stock [but not salty], pureed vegetables etc.

For desserts we had Bakewell tart & a chocolate biscuit pudding with proper thick cream - gorgeous.

Seeing what other people were eating, I can honestly say that here you really DO get good quality & a good quantity of food.

This pub is unique it still remains an old fashioned pub, so don't expect the finesse of modern establishments, you'll be disappointed.

It comes with benches outside selling plants, fruit & veg together with honesty boxes for payment [a rarity nowadays].

One review said "very unfriendly, "Oh not more strangers" attitude - we found the exact opposite. Would I recommend this pub - YES without a doubt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillsDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Proper Pub and Pub Food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Harrow is not a big place, nor 'done up' but is great for the country pub experience and hefty helpings of a Ploughman's Lunch, scotch egg or the like. Don't think scallops with black pudding, think cheddar, bread and pickles. Very popular and rightly so and worth a detour if you are in the area. Service great and squashed against others in the small rooms (outside in the summer) you get a great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harrow also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Buriton, Petersfield
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing