We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit and still fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JSW

JSW
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $235
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Third visit and still fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my third visit to this restaurant and first time in the evening. It was a memorable experience, food is amazing, each course gets better and you think it cannot get any better but it does. An explanation of each course is given, waiters and waitresses are very knowledgeable and are keen to answer questions. Service cannot be faulted and there is just the right amount of time between courses, you are not rushed at all. The atmosphere is perfect, not too quiet and not too loud either. The sweet course and then the home made chocolates finish off a perfect evening. Hurry up and do another voucher please JSW.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 788moaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    151
    81
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday to Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu here for a friends 30th birthday, with Coffee and Petit Fours, and a Birthday cake prepared by the Chefs. Everything about the restaurant was relaxed, welcoming and first class. From a very bright and fresh décor, to the warmth of welcome of the staff. Obviously on the pricier side but a fantastic place to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScallySeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had the 7 course taster last week - on a two for one voucher, of course! - and it was very good indeed. A great lunch experience. We particularly enjoyed the Gazpacho, the fish courses and the two brilliant puddings. Lambs tongue must be an acquired taste and I have not got there yet but, barring that, it was a hugely enjoyable lunch. Terrific value indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection & one of the best desserts we have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently visited JSW on a Groupon 7 course taster menu with paired wine and found this a truly exceptional luch. We had checked out the reviews on TA prior to our visit and were a little apprehensive as we thought that the restaurant may have been a little pretentious.

Our fears were unfounded however there was a table of four sitting adjacent to us that couldn't help name dropping throughout their meal. As an example they must have been to every michelin star or 2 star restaurant in the surrounding areas...?!

That aside this was truly a memorable experience.

We noted that the two young waiting staff were inexperienced but provided excellent service throughout our meal. We later checked out the JSW website and noted they were looking for apprentices. We have both worked in the catering industry and thought this would be a great introduction for these young apprentices.

The French sommelier (Jeremy......yes Jeremy) was a true professional. He had great depth of knowledge with regards to the courses and associated wines. He also had a certain charm and personality that made this a real experience. We later discovered that he bought all of the wine for the restaurant and matched the selected wines to the taster menus.

We are not backward in coming forward and were keen to know more about the wines we were having with our courses and Jeremey gave us an excellent summary of the wines and why he selected them for each course. We enjoyed the wines so much we purchased a mixed case prior to departing.

With regards to the food we had the following:

Course 1 - Watermelon Gazpacho with Crab Mayonnaise
Course 2 - Scallops with Cauliflower
Course 3 - Roasted Duck with Orange & Chicory Tart
Course 4 - Texture of Pork with Summer Vegetables
Course 5 - Texture of Lamb with Shallot Puree
Course 6 - Peach & Elderflower Bellini
Course 7 - Yogurt & Chocolate Ganache with Granola

We have tried a number of taster menu's but this was truly exceptional. I could go on about how great every course was but its easier to summarise in that my girlfriend said she would happily marry the Chef!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DirecttheSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Anniversary disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went Saturday night for our wedding anniversary, the Michelin ranking making us want to save it for a special occasion. The positives were there. Great decor, some good service, a few great courses, and speedy starter and mains (all in 40mins from when we sat). A few things just went wrong though, in ways we just wouldn't expect at that level, the last one spoiling things overall. We asked the waiter to recommend something from the half bottle list, to go with my wife's main (sea bass) - his answer was any of them would be fine.... We asked for something dry, he gave us something sweet. The (very) young lads presenting the meals were polite enough, but delivered the descriptions of the courses by rote, as though they were scared you would ask them a question. The kicker was the dessert though - ordered at 7.50, chased after half an hour, another ten minutes to then be told the ticket had been lost... Got the last course after an hour all in. They were really apologetic, and we didn't pay for the course. The apology at the time also came with a drink for each of us (though I'd told them on at least two occasions prior to that I was driving that night). I don't say that to ungrateful, like I say, they were really polite, and attempted hard to make up for the problems. We'd just paid the premium for a Michelin starred restaurant not to go somewhere great at saying sorry, but to go somewhere that doesn't have to in the first place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JSW also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to JSW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing