We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon cream tea”
Review of Langrish House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langrish House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A family occasion, which should have been exceptional. In fact it was disappointing. The surroundings and the fact that we had our own room should have made it something to remember, however, all I will remember is the tired sandwiches, the weak tea and the inedible lemon "sponge" cakes. What a pity that with just a little more effort this could have been a repeatable experience. Sadly in the future we will seek pastures new.

Room Tip: We didn't stay so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We genuinely care about our guests and are very sorry that you did not enjoy your Afternoon Tea here as much as we would have liked. It is particularly sad that you did not say anything at the time as then we could have done something about it. We are a very small hotel and we do not have Chefs around the clock, which means that sometimes sandwiches must be prepared in advance. Sandwiches and cakes should be kept so that they don't dry out, but if, inadvertently this has happened, we would have loved to be able to put it right at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 351 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a beautiful hotel in a picturesque setting. There were 10 of us for an afternoon tea to celebrate two family birthdays. We were seated in our own dining room, crisp white linen, roaring log fire, fresh flowers... just gorgeous. Sadly the food let it down a little. I think the sandwiches must have been mad some time before as the bread was drying out - the hotel did provide 5 different fillings of cucumber, egg, salmon, ham and cheese as we asked before hand as some n the party could not eat egg or salmon. The scones were warm, but a little caramelised/burnt on top and underneath - but edible. We had choc brownies which were nice but stale little lemon sponge bites. No further food was available when we asked but plenty of tea! Underwhelming overall. For £14.95 a head, and the expectations of such a hotel, we really did think the tea would have been more creatively catered, with a touch more attention to detail. Such a shame as I don't feel I could recommend it on to anyone else. I did not feel I could complain or make suggestions as staff became more difficult to find -plus it was a family event I did not want to spoil. Nonetheless, you enjoy who you are with and the venue was just lovely, so we had a great afternoon. My hope is the hotel will take a not to selves and meet their potential.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We genuinely care about our guests and are very sorry that you did not enjoy your Afternoon Tea here as much as we would have liked. It is particularly sad that you did not say anything at the time as then we could have done something about it. We are a very small hotel and we do not have Chefs around the clock, which means that sometimes sandwiches must be prepared in advance. Sandwiches and cakes should be kept so that they don't dry out, but if, inadvertently this has happened, we would have loved to be able to put it right at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We chose Langrish House to host the wedding of our daughter Rachel,and fiancé Rob, which took place on 27th December 2012,and from initial planning to the end of the celebrations Robina and all the staff couldn't have been more helpful ,attentive and professional . Organising a wedding can be stressful anytime of the year but between Christmas and new year it's predictably more so ,but at the Langrish everything was calm and well planned ,the whole hotel was at our disposal as we had booked all the rooms for our guests . The ceremony and reception were fantastic and the menu was exceptional ,our guests sat down to a 4 course wedding breakfast which was enjoyed by all . The staff were attentive the entire day and carried out their roles with the utmost professionalism and with a smile ,even though it was a long day for them ,which also followed a busy Christmas at the hotel .
The character of the Langrish is amazing ,the vaults history gave our guests an interesting topic of conversation and the gardens are beautiful even in winter and we were incredibly lucky with weather on the day as the sun shone all be it briefly but right on cue for some beautiful photos.
The hotel is also so dog friendly that it allowed us to bring our dogs to stay ,making it a lot easier for us and guests to accommodate them too on the day.
The following day breakfast was enjoyed by all who stayed over and we had a relaxed end to the celebrations. To conclude I would thoroughly recommend Langrish House for any occasion or celebration ,they really made the day special and I am very impressed with the whole experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Rachel and Rob's wedding. We love weddings at Langrish House and are so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves. We were so lucky with the weather too. We hope the happy couple have had a wonderful honeymoon and that we will see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My Mother and I purchased the 3 night Christmas package. Having not stayed at Langrish before, we didn't know what to expect, although reviews were good so we were very hopeful. The whole stay exceeded our expectations and from our arrival to departure we were made to feel very welcome and quite at home. We had a lovely big ground floor room which had space for a living area as well as the beds and still masses of room for my Golden Retriever. Food and drink were excellent throughout - from cream tea on arrival (best raspberry jam ever tasted), 2 beautiful evening meals, Christmas lunch and almost anything we wanted for breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the food or the hotel and am just thinking of my next excuse for a weekend break. The staff all combined being pleasant and helpful with being 100% professional. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere which made it easy to get to know the other guest and we have never been anywhere so dog friendly. Thank you to Robina and Nigel for a very happy Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleySandDaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are SO glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will come back and see us again soon. Happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our second weekend stay at Langrish House; we had very much looked forward to our return visit and we were not disappointed. As on our previous visit, the staff were attentive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and we felt welcome from the time we arrived until we left.

Our room was beautifully furnished, spacious and overlooked the equally beautiful grounds; we could not have asked for more attention to detail. We walked in the grounds and made a point of visiting the chickens again!

Breakfast was lovely; excellent food and we could take our time over it, which was a real treat.

Our stay was really enjoyable and relaxing and we cannot recommend Langrish House highly enough; the house is gorgeous and has an interesting history too, which is informative and gives a very homely feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HL366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is always lovely to welcome guests back to Langrish. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have spent Christmas Day Lunch here over the past several years as well as taking special friends for afternoon tea over many years. The Drawing Room is very cosy and a beautiful room to share an intimate English Tea. The staff are always incredibly friendly, nothing is too much trouble, attention to detail is key at Langrish. I spent three days over Christmas at Langrish House this year, and had a truly special festive trip to midnight mass with Robina and Nigel and my fiance on Christmas Eve. Couldn't not then book a weekend break at the end of January for my special man's birthday there. So looking forward to staying in our room overlooking the gardens and lake. Langrish just has to be visited whether with a special someone, an elderly relative or just chilling with friends. Of course being dog friendly, canine companions can enjoy it too and meet the delightful canine host Tonga who does enjoy the occasional dog chew, I always have them in my pockets for such grateful recipicients.

Room Tip: I like the rooms to the rear as they overlook the beautiful gardens, Room 17 has a beautifully quain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is always lovely to welcome guests back to Langrish House. Tonga is particularly pleased to welcome those who give her chews ..... She is positively shameless! She would like it to be understood that 'no one ever feeds her here' .... We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I am not usually moved to write reviews about restaurants I visit, but I am very happy to make an exception for Langrish House. The food is delicious, the service excellent and you couldn't hope to meet nicer owners or staff. Thank you Langrish House for making our Anniversary so special. We can't wait to return in the New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you SO much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed Langrish House and look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
3.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
158 reviews
13.7 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
20 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,500 reviews
10.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langrish House

Address: Langrish, Petersfield GU32 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Price Range: $126 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langrish House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langrish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langrish House Hotel Petersfield
Langrish Hotel Petersfield
Langrish House Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing