We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly local Pub Restaurant Grub”

The Good Intent Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 69 Restaurants in Petersfield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It's a pub.
Petersfield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly local Pub Restaurant Grub”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Good menu focused on homemade meals sourced from local produce - the quality of the meats and vegetables very good. Generous portions served by attentive and friendly staff. Small intimate and antique feel to the restaurant. We have visited on many occassions in the past few years and have never been disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ukpompeypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We have been here twice and have had a great meal on both occasions. Portions are generous and the food is beautifully cooked. The staff are very friendly and the pub has a really welcoming feel to it. We wish we were local and could visit more often!

Helpful?
Thank AJG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Christmas meal”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had booked the resturant for a meal with friends close to Christmas.
We booked here because a week or so earlier my wife and I had tried the resturant and was very impressed. The food and the atmosphere was 100%.
So Three weeks before we booked the resturant again for a table for 6.
On the evening of our meal we were informed that the only table they had for us was the one by the door and close to the bar not in the resturant. This meant that all evening people were pushing past us and standing over our table talking with drinks in teir hand. This spoilt the whole evening. We complained and the owner did offer a free drink for their mistake they finally owned up to but all we wanted was what we had booked.
Never mind, this was their loss. We finished the meal and left and went on to somewhere else.
The waiting staff were very good and helpful and we still left a tip for them so I hope this does not come across as us being miserable customers. We still enjoyed our evening but with correct booking it could have been alot better.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masspfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great pub, food and beer. We stayed and the accomodation very nice. So stay have lunch or dinner very friendly stafff

Jerry

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerrymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing sausages”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Parking was a bit difficult. Their own car park was small and most people parked in the street - but its a one way system and pretty busy. However we thought the walk from the main car park well worthwhile.

The main pub is a typical pub (but with really good beers) and you can eat there or in the quieter dining room to the side. The bar staff are really really friendly and there's a really good choice of specialist sausages. You can sit outside but it can get a bit noisy with the traffic going by.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluepiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Intent Restaurant also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Good Intent Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing