We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Thomas Lord

The Thomas Lord
Reserve with OpenTable
The Thomas Lord is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“business lunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good food well presented and served in a really nice atmosphere. Nicely appointed and tastefully decorated. The team are very attentive. The portions are by there own admission "generous"

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G-Manager07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    97
    43
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great lunch after a winter walk”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked for lunch for after a walk. We hadn't been since the refurbishment which is both stylish and fun. The food was very good and complimented with friendly service. Not the cheapest but definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptChaos179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a roast!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have always liked The Thomas Lord; it is in my portfolio of places to go for a good Sunday lunch. I went yesterday (first time since the renovation) and must say there has been a large improvement in the quality of the cooking. The main course (roasted beef) was a traditional dish, cooked perfectly and with all that you'd expect, but the desserts allowed the chef a little freedom to show his creativeness (I had choc tart). Obviously a very talented chef. It has jumped to a top three Sunday lunch venues in Hampshire for me. I will have to visit again soon to ensure consistency ;) (great excuse!). Well done Thomas Lord!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarwellHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an improvement!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

About three years ago my wife and I visited for the first (and until now only) time, and found the food, though fresh and of high quality, was overpriced and pretentious, and the wine list likewise. The atmosphere "stark" and the service perfunctory. We decided thenceforth to give it a miss.
What a contrast and what an improvement when we visited just before Christmas. Fresh high quality food - but now in well presented, well balanced flavoursome dishes that really satisfy the eye and the palate, and are good value. Good value high quality wines too. Wonderful service and a much much warmer and cosier atmosphere. We will be going back regularly now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

All i can say is you have to book immediately and get yourselves down there! Food was exquisite, service was efficient and delightful and the atmosphere was amazing. We have been a few times now and we our now planning spending new years there, looking forward to the band and the beer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas Lord also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Thomas Lord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing