We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and stay”
Review of The Trooper

The Trooper
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Trooper
Ranked #22 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a night to celebrate a family anniversary. We had dinner here and found it to be very well presented with attentive service. The lamb was very tasty although the chocolate tart dessert was a bit disappointing.

The room was just big enough with lovely views of the countryside.

Breakfast was really good too.

Recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChalmers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was a very busy Saturday, and we called in on our way following a family visit.
Its a bit muddled, as to what it is , ........pub/restaurant containing an ecclectic mix of 'tat'.!
We had a drink, at the bar, as all tables taken by people eating, - the usual these days.
So is it a pub, we thought not, its trying to be a 'country'restaurant, with someones collection from their attic on dsplay.!!
The staff were pleasant enough, pushing food, but we thought the place to be 'odd'......& wouldn't bother calling here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good food, good beer, good atmosphere in a good location.

You need to book.

On a main road so get someone to drive you or abstain.

Great collection of black and white photos of film stars and celebrities.

Great place for a family Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The trooper is an old fashioned country inn some 3 miles outside Petersfield. The rooms are large and well presented. Breakfast included is traditional full English. Staff are friendly and helfull. Atmosphere - relaxed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous four night stay at the Trooper (our third visit). Having stayed here twice previously, my husband and I decided to share this little gem with our daughter, inlaws and brother in law. Hussain and his team have customer service down to a fine art. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable as are the beds. A good choice at breakfast as well as the restaurant which we ate at twice, as usual the standard of the food was first class. They even catered for my daughter's intolerance to gluten with no fuss and were extremely helpful in suggestions for her. If you are looking for a place to stay that is out of the way, peaceful and relaxing, this is the place for you. Looking foward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm not sure whether to be delighted or annoyed that there are only 3 reviews for The Trooper; delighted because it is a very special secret delight, but annoyed because it deserves a far high rating. Hassan Mutini, the owner, is *not* Iranian, asserting proudly that "I am Persian"! He has been there for many years, and has decorated the pub is an idiosyncratic style: studio publicity shots on the walls and skis nailed to the ceilings! Hassan runs the place with an all-seeing eye for detail, and is clearly both respected and (well) loved by his staff - as well as his customers.

Portions are on the small side, but the unfailing quality - of both produce and cuisine - overrides any objections. In the summer months the views go on for ever. I wish it were my local. There's an impressive array of beers, and an eclectic wine-list. I've never stayed there, so cannot offer an opinion of the rooms, but I would be very surprised if they were anything less than excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I was driving down the road and just decided to stay here for the night. Not disappointed. Nice room, great breakfast, good dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petersfield hotels
0.0 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bootmenders B&B
Bootmenders B&B
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde George Inn
Ye Olde George Inn
#8 of 25 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trooper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trooper

Property: The Trooper
Address: Petersfield, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Trooper Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing