We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Trooper
Nearby Hotels
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)(Great Value!)
$142
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langrish House(Petersfield)
$170
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Petersfield(Petersfield)(Great Value!)
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
$129
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
15
6
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
6
1
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 25 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good food, good beer, good atmosphere in a good location.

You need to book.

On a main road so get someone to drive you or abstain.

Great collection of black and white photos of film stars and celebrities.

Great place for a family Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The trooper is an old fashioned country inn some 3 miles outside Petersfield. The rooms are large and well presented. Breakfast included is traditional full English. Staff are friendly and helfull. Atmosphere - relaxed

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous four night stay at the Trooper (our third visit). Having stayed here twice previously, my husband and I decided to share this little gem with our daughter, inlaws and brother in law. Hussain and his team have customer service down to a fine art. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable as are the beds. A good choice at breakfast as well as the restaurant which we ate at twice, as usual the standard of the food was first class. They even catered for my daughter's intolerance to gluten with no fuss and were extremely helpful in suggestions for her. If you are looking for a place to stay that is out of the way, peaceful and relaxing, this is the place for you. Looking foward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm not sure whether to be delighted or annoyed that there are only 3 reviews for The Trooper; delighted because it is a very special secret delight, but annoyed because it deserves a far high rating. Hassan Mutini, the owner, is *not* Iranian, asserting proudly that "I am Persian"! He has been there for many years, and has decorated the pub is an idiosyncratic style: studio publicity shots on the walls and skis nailed to the ceilings! Hassan runs the place with an all-seeing eye for detail, and is clearly both respected and (well) loved by his staff - as well as his customers.

Portions are on the small side, but the unfailing quality - of both produce and cuisine - overrides any objections. In the summer months the views go on for ever. I wish it were my local. There's an impressive array of beers, and an eclectic wine-list. I've never stayed there, so cannot offer an opinion of the rooms, but I would be very surprised if they were anything less than excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OliverBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I was driving down the road and just decided to stay here for the night. Not disappointed. Nice room, great breakfast, good dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews