We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Border Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Border Cottage
Ranked #4 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently enjoyed a brief stay at Border Cottage. Outside was snowing and cold, but inside was warm and cosy. Laura was the perfect B&B host and the breakfast excellant. We would certainly use this B&B again. Hanne and David

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is an outstanding B&B in a perfect location just of the high street in Petersfield. The room is spacious and immaculately clean. The attention to detail is impressive, loose tea provided and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. The breakfast was delicious. We would certainly stay again if back in Petersfield. A peaceful private haven for us to spend a night away from the children!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our stay at Border Cottage was absolutely brilliant - ideally located to get to a wedding nearby - we were impressed by the size of the room as well as the free fudge! Breakfast was great too with a choice from the menu, I would thoroughly recommend Border Cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenieplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A delightful character cottage extremely clean tidy and comfortable. Laura the owner could not be more welcoming and helpful. We had a great double room with an ensuite. We went to a friends party in Petersfield and this was the perfect
place to stay topped off with a fantastic Sunday breakfast to set us on our way home - great value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A beautiful room, filled with lovely furniture and an amazing bed where we had the most comfortable sleep away from home ever. Breakfast was just as delightful with so much attention paid to detail that you couldn't help but feel special and well looked after.
You'd be mad not to stay here. It's an ideal location and even has a fridge in the room with milk for your tea/coffee.

Room Tip: There's only one room and luckily it's the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Border Cottage for one night for a wedding, and I am still dreaming about how lovely it was. The room is huge and spread out, it feels luxurious yet homely, and finishing touches have really been thought through. All those little extras like real milk, books, extra blankets, hairdryer, plenty of storage and mirrors so you don't trip over each other getting ready, and plenty of local information. The complimentary fudge and "proper" tea was a huge hit with me, and I get the feeling that Laura won't have minded that I enjoyed mine in that huuuuuge comfy bed :)
Breakfast was amazing too, wish I could have eaten more... Laura is such a lovely host,
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaphneRoseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at Border Cottage for just the one night for a wedding at The Tithe Barn and I would highly recommend it.

The friendly and personal service (from email correspondence to leaving) was superb. The room was very spacious and the bed enormous (and comfy).

We will stay here again if we are ever in the area. It was the kind of place where if you stayed for the weekend, you would almost hope that it rained one afternoon so you could stay in and read a book looking out the window – the whole setting was so nice (and that is coming from a couple in their mid-twenties!).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petersfield hotels
0.8 mi away
Crescent Cottage
Crescent Cottage
#1 of 25 in Petersfield
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearfield Bed and Breakfast
Pearfield Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Petersfield
115 reviews
2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Buriton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#6 of 25 in Petersfield
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cricketers Inn
The Cricketers Inn
#23 of 25 in Petersfield
82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bootmenders B&B
Bootmenders B&B
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Cottage

Address: 4 Heath Road, Petersfield GU31 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Hotel Class:4 star — Border Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One large double or twin character bedroom in pretty whitewashed 17th century cottage in town centre location nearby to excellent restaurants and pubs. 10 Minutes walk from train station. Petersfield is an attractive market town located in the South Downs National Park. 1 Hour by train from London and 30 minutes from Portsmouth, Chichester and Winchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Border Cottage Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing