We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 New Milton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Me and hubby have just returned from a few days in the new forest area en route to the Goodwood festival of speed where we were stayed with friends. We arrived late Sunday evening after googling for a B&B in the area and a quick phone call later we were booked in. On arrival We were shown up to Room 1 with super king sized bed (which can split to a twin). This is a large and light room with a bay window and a spotless ensuite shower room which has some lovely extra luxuries. There are two chairs in the bay area ideal for watching the flat screen tv, or watching a DVD or reading a book from a selection on shelves just outside the door, whilst having a cuppa and biscuits. The bed was really comfy and we were well rested when we ventured downstairs for breakfast. We helped ourselves to fresh fruit salad, juices, cereals, yoghurts and pastries from the dresser whilst tea and coffee were served with toast and a selection of marmalade, jam, honey and marmite. We then tucked in to a large and delicious full English breakfast, noting that other options such as poached eggs, kippers or vegetarian options were also on offer. Sue and Keith the owners chatted with us about our plans for the day and recommended a trip into nearby Mudeford and Christchurch where we enjoyed the stunning sunshine and coastal views and visited the market and quay. There are some pubs and Indian restaurants in New Milton, but it is also good to explore the new forest and coastal areas too and a one mile flat walk to the fabulous (slightly expensive but worth it) Pebble restaurant at Barton On Sea will make a special treat with stunning views. Also within 10 minutes at Downton, the Royal Oak was highly recommended by Keith and Sue and lived up to this with an excellent meal, great atmosphere and good ales and wine list. We also found the Three Tuns at Bransgore 5 miles in the other direction with superb food, wines and ales and great village atmosphere.

We stayed at Beech Lodge for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, this excellent B&B is a real find and is well positioned for you to visit so many attractions that the area has to offer. On day two we visited the Beulieu Motor Museum which is less than half an hour drive through glorious new forest countryside, getting a £5 discount voucher from a leaflet given by Sue and Keith. They are very friendly and helpful and made our stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 was light and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Beech Lodge for 3 nights from 31st May to 3rd June. We were very warmly welcomed and shown to our spotless and comfortable room. The room benefitted from TV with free view, tea and coffee making facitlties and a wonderfully powerful shower! The B & B is only a short walk from the town centre which was perfect for us. Breakfast was delicious and Sue and Keith are a pleasure to talk to and have a wide knowledge of the area. We will definately be visiting again over the summer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Finally booked the date for my horse riding gift (thanks son) at Burley Villa Stables. Decided as it was an early start to stay overnight in a bed and breakfast, through lastminute.com. This came up with Beech Lodge in New Milton. It looked good on the page and experiencing it I was not disappointed. Keith and Sue were friendly and welcoming. The B&B was very clean. I had the single room, which had a double bed. It was big enough for my needs. The bathroom was private, for my use only. I had to go out of my room to the bathroom, but this did not matter. The only time really when waking up early and deciding not to use the bathroom until a more earthly hour. Sue was talking about building ensuite so this would take away the problem. the bathroom was very clean and it was nice to see all the little extras in there, such as cotton buds, and decent shower creme. In the bedroom the bed took up most of the room, but saying that I never felt squashed, with enough room around the bed. The bed was very comfortable. There was a tv, which being by myself just gave some background noise in the evening. On the landing was a couple shelves of DVDs and books, so if staying there was a choice of reading and watching material. The breakfast was lovely. Took advantage of being waited on and had a full English, as well as fruit. Sue and Keith were very informative about the area and places to see. Arriving the day before the horse riding event I took advantage of visiting Barton on Sea. A wonderful place. Beech Lodge is very near Burley Villa so was spot-on in respect of location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

They welcomed us when we arrived & showed us upto our room (twin room - room 1) it was so spacious & had fantastic views accros the road to the little church. Such a quiet road also. The breakfast was scrummy.
You must stay there, you will enjoy it

Room Tip: Room No 1 had brilliant view at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusheyMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Have recently enjoyed a long weekend in this very clean and comfortable B & B. Great location within easy walking distance to the shops and within a 5 minute drive to the New Forest or the coast.
The bedroom was very well presented, it was warm, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. There was tea and coffee making facilities, and toiletries in the bathroom.
The owners Sue and Keith are very welcoming and want to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, nothing was too much trouble. They are very helpful in suggesting places to visit and things to see. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B & B for either a business stay or a long or short holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Would concur with the above review. Stayed here as an alternative to the Travelnn type of place we normally stay in for a short break. Very welcoming owners, good room, excellent breakfast and good value.

The only thing I would add is that the small town of New Milton doesn't have a lot by way of eateries (within walking distance) aside from a couple of Indians and a big group type pub. Very easy access to the main train station (15 mins walk away) and regular services to Southampton or Bournemouth the other way.

Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here in Oct visiting family in the area so only stopped here for 2 nights. Easy to find. Lady answered the door who was the owner Sue,very friendly and gave a warm welcoming. Took us to our room which was room 1, clean and very homely but modern at the same time. Was close to the town of new milton and a pub not to far away. The new forest not to far away to. In the morning Keith who was Sue's husband served the breakfast plenty of choice, fresh fruit, could not do anything more to make our stay more enjoyable. Have already booked to go back, and would recommend this B&B to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Front 2 rooms have a lovely view of the little church across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
1.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,903 reviews
3.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
10.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Watersedge Guest House
Watersedge Guest House
#1 of 7 in Barton-on-Sea
377 reviews
5.1 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Mount Avenue | Beechlodge Org Uk, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in New Milton
Price Range: $80 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Lodge is located between the New Forest and the seaside in the town of New Milton. We are walking distance from the main line railway station serving London Waterloo and the South West. We are set just off the main road between christchurch and lymington in a quiet location,yet close to shops and restaurants We provide free wifi. Breakfast is served daily Evening meal with soft drinks available Please come and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Beech Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Lodge Bed And Breakfast New Milton, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing