We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I visited Chewton Glen in the spring as part of a business trip and promised myself that I would return with my wife at some point in the future and indeed so glowing were my stories from the initial stay that I had to return. Plans were made and a date was found in the middle of winter for a foray into Hampshire and a stay at Chewton became reality. As we approached the house there was a moment of trepidation as I had spoken so highly of the hotel and its service that I felt I was setting myself for a fall. Maybe its sign of modern times that rather than setting out to be further amazed we set our sights on looking for faults and preparing ourselves for the let down.

Well this time my stay at Chewton could not have helped restore my belief in the fact that winning formulas require thought, time and most importantly the correct team in place. From the moment we walked through the door and were welcomed til we passed back out of the front gates we were the recipients of wonderful hospitality and immediately put at our ease.
Whilst much of Chewton Glen is good and no one particular facet is outstanding it is this wonderful combination of consistent excellence which is blended together with personal, friendly yet inobtrusive service which makes it one of the most memorable places to stay.

We were indeed greatly priveledged to stay in one of the new tree houses perched above the tree canopy in a little glen looking out over the meadow. Each room has everything that could be wished for from tea and coffee making facilities to state of the art communications, underfloor heating to hot tub on the balcony, welly boots for the adventurous and cookies and hot chocolate for the lazy. the treehouses are some distance from the hotel- enough to be private and discreet but not too far to be isolated. we arranged for a buggy to take us to dinner which was had enough of a range for all to enjoy, and walked home to take in the air. For Breakfast it was delivered through a secret hatch in a special hamper and whilst initially we had intentions of going to the restaurant for breakfast these were quickly dispelled when we opened to hamper to find everything we could have wished for had been delivered with fresh fruit , waffles, yoghurt and cereal, apple juice, orange juice and mountains of pastries and bread to go with the smoked salmon!

Whilst I read from other reviewers that the tree houses are ideal for families they are designed in such away that i thought they were ideal for couples looking for a quiet romantic escape. The house remains at the heart of the hotel with great spa and sports facilities but the tree houses force you to relax and imposes and air of tranquility that in todays modern world is difficult to achieve and therefore great to experience
The only fault we found was that one night was not long enough and despite my wife trying to rectify this buy leaving her wallet in the safe and forcing me to return to collect it- a good plan
but one I quickly saw through- our next visit is already being planned!

Room Tip: Treehouses are new and impressive but they do offer peace and seclusion without isolation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertiethebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Treehouse no. 3 was superb. Wood burning firing, 2 balconies, hot tub, lovely bathroom. Very expensive but very nice. Gave one a feeling of seclusion and privacy without the need to be at the hotel.

Sadly the service to the Treehouses needs work as everything is difficult, even getting a drink as the fridge is pretty bare in terms of drinks. If you fancy a coke, a beer or a gin you have to call roome service, who take an age to deliver. The concept is great but sadly the service does not match the quality of the accomodation.

If the hotel can improve on the service this is a great place to go and relax and chill and cut yourself off for a few days.

We took the in-room massage treatment and it was one the best that we have and we have had many around the world, well done girls.

As said, somewhat of a let down due to the service but management addressed the issues and took on-board our comments, which was assuring. A very professional approach to matters.

Room Tip: Treehouse 3 is excellent just make sure you order to your room well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose a treehouse loft so our son could have a separate space and feel like he was camping. The facility is lovely and the hot tub outside looking at the raging brook was delightful. I did not feel that the room was particularly clean and noticed during our stay that the floors were always dirty. Not good.

The food sent to the room in the fun hampers was all delicious and high quality.

The staff was quite helpful and friendly.

I must share my wife's displeasure with the top-rated spa. She was displeased with the lady who was supposed to give her a massage and ended up with just a body scrub and was never shown a sauna or steam room but sent directly back to the treehouse at the end of the treatment. Isn't a spa more than just a treatment?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

had a great couple of days, the staff were amongst the most helpful and friendly of all the places I've been throughout the stay without being over the top. loved the treehouses, nice peaceful space to ourselves disconected from the hotel, will go again

Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A wonderful experience is to be had at Chewton Glen. From arrival with the car disappearing in the hands of the valet parkincg attendant and reappearing when needed ( which is not often!). The staff are incomparable and the attention to detail is faultless. The rooms are wonderful. Stretch to a Gold room if you can. Dinner is excellent in all respects. It is the dining room where they remember your preference from one night to the next. Also a tremendous spa. Go for a birthday and tell them in advance - we found a birthday card and balloon in the room on arrival. Go for an anniversary. Go for New Year's Eve. Go whenever you can afford it. And I saw many children having a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Gold rooms on ground floor have outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is exceptional. From the minute you arrive you they literally take care of you. Your comfort is their priority and each time we've been there are personal touches that make the guest feel special. The beds are so comfy you have to drag yourself out of them, or give in and snuggle up for a cosy afternoon movie with homemade scones from the afternoon tea room service menu. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff at Chewton Glen. The food, spa, bar are all just as you would hope them to be in an ultimate luxurious country hotel, everything is first class. This time we stayed in the stunning new tree houses. The hot tubs were the highlight as you overlook a stunning view as you relax in them with a glass of champagne, and the clever room designs mean that not only couples can enjoy the luxury these tree houses offer, families can too. As the tree houses are separated from the main hotel, a breakfast hamper is delivered each morning which the kids of course loved. You can't get bored staying at Chewton Glen as it offers so much within the hotel but also locally in the gorgeous New Forest. As you can tell, it would take a lot to beat this outstanding country hotel experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC251071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We came here for our 1st year wedding anniversary for afternoon tea that we had booked months beforehand. When we initially made the booking we asked if we could stay for the night but we were told that for a weekend stay it was a minimum of 2 nights stay. I advised it was our 1st year wedding anniversary but was told that they could not offer us 1 nights stay but nearer the time they would contact us if a room became available for one night.
The morning of our tea we called the hotel to book the chauffeur service and was asked if we were staying at the hotel, we advised that unfortunately we were told we could not stay for 1 night when we made the booking and the lady said that it was a shame as there was availability for 1 night. This was disappointing as the hotel made no effort to contact us to tell us this although they had promised to.
When we arrived we waited to enter the room where afternoon tea was being served and no one came over to see us. After 5 minutes other people arrived and were shown straight in whilst we were left feeling as though we were not important enough to be seen to. Eventually a gentleman asked if we were being looked after and then showed us to our table. We were led through a lovely lounge area with comfy looking sofas where people were taking their tea and we were taken to another room which lacked the warmth and atmosphere to the first room (clearly the first room must have been for residents).
We were given a menu and asked what we would like, I explained that we had champagne afternoon tea booked and handed over the booking paperwork. I was disappointed that they were not aware that this had already been booked.
We received our glass of champagne and a little while later we received our sandwiches, cakes and scones which were delicious. I was disappointed that although they kept coming over to ask if we wanted more cups of tea, we were not asked if we would like anymore sandwiches or cakes etc which most other hotels would offer. I also found it quite rude that residents were allowed to walk through the dining area in their dressing gowns and slippers whilst we were eating!
There was a clear difference to how residents were treated and how we were treated.
Overall I feel very let down by Chewton Glenn as we were so looking forward to this treat and in the end left feeling very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,782 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
407 reviews
4.5 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range: $416 - $1,560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing