We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overall good but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Location is fantastic and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant. Our suite looked great and was good overall but had a few minor design issues. Service is a bit mixed given the price so overall an enjoyable stay but just not quite as good as it could be.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frasier2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    271
    109
    49
    17
See reviews for
402
900
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have just returned from this hotel having stayed three nights. This hotel is simply the best. Staff, food, accommodation, grounds, facilities are superb, We have never experienced anything like it before. You simply could not wish for anything more whilst staying at this hotel.
However, the experience of someone in a wheelchair is very different. Although you pay the same high rates as able bodied guests, you will not be able to visit the Spa beauty salon or Spa restaurant because there is no lift, although upon enquiring about refreshments you are offered use of a chair to man handle you up the stairs to the restaurant, which is very undignified, and no offer to bring refreshments to you at the poolside. Unfortunately, you will not be able to get around the hotel or even leave the hotel unless you notify Reception first who will arrange for a ramp to be placed over one high step. Although access to this ramp will probably be blocked anyway by chairs stored in the corridor by the restaurant which blocks any available access (on three occasions). We had a wheelchair accessible room which was superb, other then the balcony being on a split level with no ramp to the lower level.
This is a wonderful hotel, however I think they need to re-visit their policy regarding wheelchair guests. Clearly wheelchair users pay the same rates to use ALL the facilities not just where the hotel has provided access to. How many able bodied guests are required to contact Reception to inform them they wish to leave their room, or had to turn back because corridors were blocked.
It is such a shame because despite our experiences this is the simply the best hotel we have stayed in and would love to return again, but things need to change for us or any other wheelchair user to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 881JustTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

A warm greeting upon arrival by staff with umbrella. In stark contrast with snooty French restaurant manager who seamed reluctant to accommodate residents at lunch time. Food ranged from good to excellent.
Spa facility's and staff very professional.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Chewton Glenn probably does not need my review or compliments but wanted to remark on the superb 50th Birthday Lunch for my wife and friends. The welcome is perfect and the food is outstanding. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff and everyone in the party felt that it was just the most perfect day. I would certainly recommend the refurbished restaurant to anyone looking for something very special

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimeeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed over at this amazing hotel having spent 2 nights in a not so great 4* hotel about 20 miles away.

The gorgeous building, grounds and the amazing service made this a truly wonderful 24 hours.

Reception staff on check in were professional and as we had arrived earlier than anticipated they arranged coffee and pastries for us in one of the stunning lounges.

We had a walk around the grounds and had a peek at the tree houses which look amazing. We were booked into a "Gold Room" - wonderful luxurious room with a view over the croquet lawn. The shower in the bathroom is brilliant!!

We relaxed in the spa which really was exceptional. Did not book treatments but the list was extensive and prices although high you have to remember this is a 5* luxury hotel.

We took afternoon tea in the lounge, and it was rather nice to sit there on a cloudy rainy afternoon looking out. I would imagine this place is stunning at Christmas.

We ate in Vetiver on the evening, the food is outstanding as was the service.

We wished we could have stayed longer, but let me say that this is one place where you simply must come too.

Thank you Chewton Glen, we have fallen in love.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I took my wife and 6 year old twin girls for a Saturday night stay in a mini suite for my wife's birthday 15th sept. We haven't been back to the hotel since a troublesome stay years ago that we had a free stay offered to us that we didn't want to use. I was brave enough to try the hotel again as a high end family hotel and I wasn't disappointed.

Things were very different this time. We were greated when we reached the hotel by name, even he girls which blew them away. In the room were juices, biscuits and robes for the girls which they loved. We swam in the Pool whilst my wife had spa treatments which she loved. The girls went exploring and used the swings outside, the outing green and the play area. We had an early dinner due to the kids and this seemed much improved food and service was excellent and attentive for the most part. Once the restaurant got busier towards the end of our sitting you could feel the stress rising in he waiting staff and our girls had to lie down as they were falling asleep waiting 30 mins for the bill. Not a big issue for us as we were ending our meal which we had loved but still signs that service struggles here. We decided to have breakfast in the room to eliminate any risk in he restaurant on our last day and this came prompt and was excellent. Check out was efficient and the girls loved their shortbread. The sign that this had been an amazing stay was that our girls asked if they could come on holiday to chew ton glen for a week. They loved it so we loved it. Thanks to all he staff for making this weekend special.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigBadDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in September in a ground floor one bed suite with private garden.
Lovely room, well equipped.
Highlights:
room service was amazing. The best.
Tea and coffee good quality and always piping hot
Room servicing and turndown service was excellent.
All staff were helpful, friendly and attentive.
Great location near the sea.
The Spa was good

Points to improve:
Breakfast service was chaotic and orders sometimes mixed up
Breakfast buffet a bit uninspired (it costs £20)
Wifi did not work in our room, the booster adapter the hotel tried did not work with the new telephones
After attempts by the hotel to fix it, I gave up

Food in general:
Great service, but expensive for what it is
Sommelier was very helpful
Pebble Beach restaurant down the road has a better atmosphere and lovely food. You do need to book in advance.

So, a great break, but slightly overpriced.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing