We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spa Hotel I have been too.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Spa Hotel I have been too.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband booked this to celebrate my birthday. We stayed for three days and I could have easily stayed on for longer.
The Spa is amazing, spotlessly clean and relaxing.
Our room was stunning we got a free up grade and the bed was so comfortable.
I loved the staff everyone of them was accommodating without being over the top, the no tipping policy was very refreshing.
The wine waiter was great fun, totally down to earth and charming.
My only observation was the dress code should be more defined for the restaurant. Its nice to put on something smart in the evening, but when you are sitting next to a guest in a pair of ripped jeans and a hoddie it let the image down, she looked like she should have been washing her car not eating beautiful food in a stunning room.
I would love to go back... Soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the best available, the staff are so helpful they up graded us for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomsonFamily100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    284
    113
    51
    18
See reviews for
413
928
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aldington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

It was great to be back , having last stayed here a decade ago.Service is still excellent and friendly and they have a no tipping policy throughout.. Room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable , with a small balcony. The wonderfull swimming pool is now complemented by the best spa pool i have ever seen , with a variety of jet treatment for all over relaxation.We also enjoyed playing tennis in the superb indoor courts , although one has to compete for a slot against the health club visitors that are not guests!
BUT,at those prices its pretty appalling that they expect you to pay £20 each for breakfast, a recent money grabbing scheme in some hotels , and i would.urge you to press for this to be included when you reserve..Another disappointment was the restaurant.This WAS superb , with great service , but not any longer.Its now in what appears to be a plastic framed conservatory, plain and ordinary with matching service, no longer opulent or with any class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calleywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

It's a beautiful place, the food is terrific but what really sets it apart is the service which is second to none. It's not cheap but it is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We made a very last minute booking and know that the hotel was pretty well full and yet it never felt too busy anywhere. The gardens are fantastic and there is a real feeling of being in a beautiful English Country house. The outdoor pool was impressively warm (too many English hotels have the water too cold for our climate!) and the indoor Spa area a real treat. We stayed at this hotel before , some years ago when it was in a "shabby Chic" phase...it has dropped the "shabby" and is now definitely just "chic". The decor is a modern twist on traditional and works really well.
The test of a really good hotel is how they handle it when something goes wrong. We had a misunderstanding over breakfast and the duty manager could not have been more courteous or prompt in resolving the issues. Very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I spent 4 days and it was a great experience. The room was big and comfortable. The food was exceptional. The indoor pool is excellent. I enjoyed very much the walk to the beach. The service also first class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarianobicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

On 17thJune my wife and I together with 12 friends celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary at Chewton Glen where the very friendy and efficient staff made sure we had everything we needed to make it a successful and memorable day. We planned the day with a great deal of help from Nicola Abad and everything happened even better than we hoped it would. Some of our guests enjoyed the challenging 9 hole golf course while others swam in the lovely indoor swimming pool. The dinner we had in a private dining room was superb and it is certainly a day we shall always remember. Many thanks to all the staff.
Bryan Carter

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

do you want pampering from the moment you get to the hotel to when you leave? look no further than Chewton Glen.
No need to park your car, it is done for you! No need to take your luggage in, it is done for you!
Before arrival your needs have already been voiced - for example - duvet or blankets? Position of room?
the price is not cheap, but well worth paying for.

Room Tip: Over looking the croquet lawn in a junior suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
7.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing