We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Go There! They Lie !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milton Barns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milton Barns Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 New Milton B&B and Inns
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do Not Go There! They Lie !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked a room two weeks before we wanted to stay and were told confirmation would be sent by post - not email. Three phone calls later we still had not received anything, despite a man (not on the phone, just a voice in the background) saying it had been posted 'two days ago'. Then we were told they had one letter wrong on the postcode. I booked another hotel and cancelled this one, was told the money would be refunded in two days. On the following day the man rang me and told me they did not refund money. I said not using email was a poor way to do business and I would not do my business that way. He answered 'This isn't your business'.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bridgeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perrypressure, Owner at Milton Barns Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Sadly this lady would not accept confirmation was sent in post and maybe lost by Royal mail system. We offered to send a second copy in the post but she would not listen as abusive when we tried to speak . She (insisted) how we should run our business by email confirmation as she would do. We said we were happy ( thank you for views anyway about our business), but we would still post confirmations (as we tried to explain but NOT ALLOWED to speak), as we post a free map of coast and new forest along with area information pack showing places of interest for guests to perhaps visit. The lady was told on 2 occasions her room was confirmed and shown on our system so please do not worry. No refund was due as she was told our terms of trading (which are displayed on line etc) were not adhered to and it was her own fault she had booked somewhere else costing her the price of two rooms in the end. Finally, she said she would report us to her local chamber of commerce, which has no bearing on standard industry hotel trading terms she had broken.........the lady continued to be abusive and hung up while we were trying to talk reason with her. A very sad conclusion when our staff had tried so very hard to help this lady understand, but who would not listen to reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
36
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We booked on behalf of friends thinking this would be near the forest or the beach, as we wanted a weekend out of london. I concede it was 5-10 mins drive from the beach, but the actual area this is located in is basically an industrial estate, and very shabby. That would suit some people (presumably workers at the estate), but not if you want a nice / leisurely weekend away. The rooms were OK / bearable but certainly not like the website pictures, but in the end we actually decided not to stay and forfeited our room payment (they wouldnt even give us half back despite the fact I argued it was false advertising). Anyway, as I said the people were nice enough, but this is not the place to stay if you want to have a nice weekend break. I would avoid this and stay 5 mins drive by the beach or somewhere nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perrypressure, Owner at Milton Barns Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Our response to this comment. We are just 3 minutes from beach and New Forest, not 10 minutes as told on trip adviser, we are near an industrial estate not on one. The guest never stayed so could not comment on our facilities. He said he never puts things on tripadviser if we paid him some money back, he did. He really wanted a very posh hotel for very little cost .He wanted the New Forest 5 minutes away, but in the end stayed 25 minutes away not 5 minutes in Bournemouth which is a confusing story on his part?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights for a double celebration. It was my daughters 40th birthday on the friday and we had an excellent meal at the cliffhanger restaurant which we would thoroughly recommend. On the saturday it was my younger daughters wedding in Poole with the wedding reception at the Three Tuns just 10 minutes from Milton barns.
There were 12 of us staying thursday night, 18 friday night and 20 saturday night. We also had an extra 4 family members for breakfast on the Sunday. The accommodation was just perfect for the whole family and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend milton barns as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariondixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We were booked into this hotel as part of a group booking and attended a party there. On arrival the Receptionist could not find the location of our room. When the room was eventually found there was no number on it, which I thought was strange. The room we were given was tiny with a small bed. The pillows were overhanging onto the bedside cabinets. There were only flimsy blinds at the window and no curtains. The bathroom was shabby with a broken toilet roll holder and shower tray. The room was dark and one of the bedside lamps had no bulb in it. I complained to the Head Receptionist and she told me that this was usually a single room. I explained that we had booked a double and she said that the hotel was full because of the party. If we had not been attending the party I would have checked out there and then. After a lot of negotiation we were eventually moved to another room, which in fairness was very nice and large with luxury fittings.

Breakfast the next morning was very disorganised. Our hosts had booked breakfast for ten people to be served all together. Firstly there was no fruit or cereal on offer. The toast arrived and was only enough for one half slice per person. We had to ask for jam and marmalade and even then only a minimal amount was offered. We also had to ask for milk for the tea. The actual full english breakfast was however excellent but some of the male guests were still hungry afterwards.

I would not recommend or return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARENP105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

My wife and I had a very restful night here. Good management and caring staff. Large rooms with all the amenities. And then the GREAT breakfast. I would recommend
Milton Barns to anyone travelling the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfhfhfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

My wife and I recently spent two very enjoyable days/nights at Milton Barns Hotel. We must congratulate the management on the superb service extended to us during our stay. Being and old converted Barn, you always wonder what it will be like. We were very pleasantly surprised at the decor, spotless rooms and public areas.
We found Bob very helpful, he seems to run most things. He even drew maps for us, as we are not too familiar with the New Forest area.
As the Hotel is so well located for the New Forest, and the Dorset coast, we were very satisfied with our choice of accomodation. As for the cream tea, well we have never tasted a fresher, or more delicious indulgence (Freshly made on the premises).
We would certainly book again with NO hesitation, and will give it 5 good stars!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I booked and paid for three rooms at this hotel in preparation of an early morning buisiness meeting. I arrived as planned on the evening before with a colleague whereupon we discovered that we would have to be somewhere else the following morning so needed to stay elsewhere.

So we were delighted with the cheerful help that the staff provided to find us another hotel nearer to our new destination and refunded our pre-payment in full, even though they could have claimed the whole lot with such late notice.

So I still haven't stayed there, but based on these wonderful staff, I am sure I will in future.

(My scoring is based on what I was able to see for myself!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
0.7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.8 mi away
Eastclose Hotel
Eastclose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Barns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Barns Hotel

Property: Milton Barns Hotel
Address: Gore Road | Near Walkford, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Barn Restaurant set in a rustic Barn conversion originally built in 1833. The Barn restaurant has ground floor seating inside the barn or in the central conservatory or open air courtyard. The Barn Restaurant also has an open upstairs mezzanine seating area that can be reserved for groups up to 30 people. We have 6 en-suite ground floor hotel bedrooms attached to the Barn which create the interior open air courtyard seating area which is partially enclosed providing a sun-lit covered area for the restaurant. We have a large free car park and a small playground and field for children and pets to have a play. We are open for breakfast, lunch, cake and cream tea's 7 days a week and dinner Wed - Sat evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Milton Barns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Barns Hotel New Milton, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing