We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House Martin Barton-on-Sea

The House Martin Barton-on-Sea
Reserve with OpenTable
The House Martin Barton-on-Sea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in New Milton
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been here a few times as The Housemartin is local to where we live. Every time we have been there we haven't been disappointed with the quality of food and service provided.

We went last night, a Friday, although there were some noisy folk in the main part main part of the pub, which is probably normal for many pubs on a Friday evening, we found a quiet spot round the corner next to the log fire. Loved the smell of smoke and the warm friendly atmosphere.

One think I would like to say is that the member of staff who served us was very professional and very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaylee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    119
    74
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Ales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Housemartin is a very 'foody' pub, though you do get locals in there for a drink but it is more of a restaurant. They usually have a couple of really good real ales and a very good selection of other beers and wines. Their food menu is very good and you should be able to find something for everyone, from snacks to a full meal. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is their Christmas menu, which is very 'run of the mill' and quite boring really. But I would recommend to anyone to try the pub. An endearing feature is that they give away free apples every day in a basket on the bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebby2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have got to say that this is the best family pubs I have eaten in. On all aspects it did not fail to satisfy. We felt very comfortable visiting with our child for which they have a varied menu and meal deal to keep our little monkey happy. The staff were very accommodating with our needs and interacted with our child too which he loved. For us off coarse I am sure many parents would agree, that when the children are happy we can relax and enjoy ourselves too. 10/10 for facilities, cleanliness, service. We will be back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

1st time eating here, the food was delicious but service between courses was very slow. Restaurant not particularly busy at time of visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raveydavey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Ordered the pie selection. Very nice chicken and ham hock, steak and ale pies served with mash potatoes, carrots and cabbage.
been there many times and will continue visiting...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy28Chartres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Martin Barton-on-Sea also viewed

New Milton, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
New Milton, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 

Been to The House Martin Barton-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing