We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but definitely not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Champneys Forest Mere
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good but definitely not 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have visited Champneys in Forest Mere twice now and have had a lovely, relaxing time on each occasion. The food is delicious and the treatments wonderful. I certainly felt relaxed by the end, as one would hope from a spa.

There are a few little things that make this feel very much a 4 rather than 5 star spa though, which, judging by the cost, really should be improved upon. As mentioned in several other reviews, the decor is looking really tired and there aren't anywhere near enough seats or loungers to accommodate everyone. I went with my fiancé and we were frustrated to find that the steam room, plunge pool, and relaxation rooms are all single sex so we couldn't enjoy these together.

We also had a bad start to the day. I had booked our treatments and times well in advance but, when we were given our itinerary on arrival, we discovered that 4 out of 5 treatments listed were incorrect and all of the times were wrong. Staff were unapologetic as they nervously searched to see if they could squeeze us in somewhere. Not exactly a great start to the stress-free day you expect.

Once this was resolved though, we were able to enjoy the rest of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    468
    249
    158
    117
See reviews for
413
570
218
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have now visited Champneys Forest Mere 7 times in the past 3 years and i love it every time.
My last visit was 25th July, my 16 year old daughter joined me for the first time.
When you drive up the long driveway, you get the feeling of luxury and relaxation. The spa itself is very clean, the reception is very friendly and welcoming. Treatments, food all get a big thumbs up.
I am sure to be going back within the next 12 months, i need to retain myself, else i would be on their doorstep every month lol.
Prices are not too bad, they do great deals, just keep a regular eye on their website.
I would say, ladies treat yourselves to some nice you time and visit the champ of Spa's: Champneys xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have been to this resort several times now, usually for two night stays and it just gets better and better. I booked a superior room (well worth it) and had several treatments which were all excellent. The food and service are superb, and I left feeling really relaxed.
There are a couple of small things that could be upgraded like the hairdryers in the spa area, but our room was lovely with very nice decor and a good TV so we could watch the royal newborn events! I love coming to Forest Mere because it feels like coming home, especially if Jackie is there in the spa restaurant to give me a warm welcome.

Thanks to all the lovely staff there and see you soon!

Room Tip: I like a room on 2nd floor and with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is the third time i have been to this resort and it always lives upto expectations. Great ground floor superior room, lovely food and relaxing treatments. If i had one comment it would be to upgrade the locker/changing rooms. They're looking a bit tired. Otherwise - fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theboblington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

As you enter the long driveway and pass the lake and extensive lawns,you are immediately aware of the relaxing atmosphere which awaits you during your stay at Forest Mere. From the moment you enter reception, until the end of your visit, the attention to detail is excellent. When I visited in June with my disabled sister, she was shown discreet help and kindness from all staff members, which was much appreciated. The carefully tended flower beds and indoor floral displays added to the peaceful ambience. The bedrooms were quiet and comfortable, ensuring a good nights sleep. I had a back massage, swam in the pool and joined the yoga and body stretch classes. We both came away feeling rejuvenated and as always are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the lake which have their own patio if you upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a spa day here......lovely setting pleasant staff.nice food.
Only fault grumpy woman in shop upstairs in fact verged on the rude. Beautician put powder on sweaty face with brush not cleaned in any way............otherwise a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went to Champneys Forest Mere on their Girls Night in Package.

We arrived on the Sunday to Champagne in our room and a beautiful gift for each of us. The package included 2 treatments so we robed up and wandered off to the pool and Sauna before going up for the treatments. I had the Champneys Back Massage and Facial which were utterly blissful! We all felt very ethereal afterwards!

We lounged around for a while before heading to the Terrace Restaurant for a 3 course meal (also included in the package, we just had to pay extra for wine) The food was out of this world! We then grabbed a bottle of champers and sat on the terrace in the cool breeze and chatted the night away!

The next day we had breakfast (the most amazing buffet, also included!) and a delicious carvery lunch. Some of our group opted for additional treatments but most of us just wallowed in the whirlpool, or by the outside pool.

We really enjoyed the 2 days, and I expect that we will be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
0.8 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
4.3 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
20.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champneys Forest Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champneys Forest Mere

Property: Champneys Forest Mere
Address: Forest Mere Portsmouth Road, Liphook GU30 7JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champneys Forest Mere 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champneys Forest Mere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Forest Mere Health Hotel Liphook
Champneys Forest Mere Health Liphook
Champneys Forest Mere Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing