We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in a crazy world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Champneys Forest Mere
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven in a crazy world”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The website shows you what is on offer but it is not until you experience the luxury of Champneys Forest Mere resort, that you will appreciate how special it is. I have experienced Tring and Henlow resorts which are also great, but Forest Mere has the edge on the quality of service it offers. It is possibly in need of a facelift but I do like the charm of the old buildings and fittings, and everything always seems in working order. Full price is reasonable for what you get, but if you can take advantage of their special offers, it is real value for money. Each time I visit, I am pleasantly surprised there is another little extra added, from the gift for returning, to the smoothie taster at breakfast. If you want to make the most of your stay, check the activity schedule in advance and book treatment times around these. Also save skin treatments for your last day so you don't lose the benefit in the swimming pool, sauna, steamroom, etc.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms overlooking the lake, but those overlooking the gardens are also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    496
    273
    163
    127
See reviews for
440
607
229
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a great weekend here. Room very good and overlooked outside pool but areas looked tired and in need of some tlc. Food excellent and could not fault variety and service. Overall the hotel needed a facelift and some updating. Only one area to sit for natural daylight and that was the sofas in reception. Needed more beds by the pool as only 8 of them.staff were super and treatments superb.would I go back? Yes but not until some refurbishments have taken place.

Room Tip: We were in room 226 which was good apart on some paint peel in the bathroom around the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my fourth short stay at Champneys in the past four years. We (my mother and I) enjoyed a 2 night break. We tend to use it as a relaxing break making use of the facilities on site rather than trying to cram too many treatments in. We made the mistake (well if you can call it that) of booking so many treatments once, that we seemed to spend all our time clock watching. So this time we enjoyed the sauna, steam room, swimming pool and even dipped in the cold 'plunge pool'! We also managed a dance class, a couple of thelassotherapy pool sessions - in my opinion as good as any massage - detoxing and pummelling my muscles - it was great.
The food is amazing with duck and salmon on the menu, together with chocolate moose for dessert ! It was just like being in a top class hotel but with all the health facilities on site too. We did indulge in a foot heaven massage - this was nice because we both sat together in the same beauty treatment room and were able to book a time together so neither were waiting for the other.
We had a standard twin room on floor three - it was perfect for our stay. Despite there being a perfectly good bath and shower in the room, because we used the spa facilities we didn't need to use this and wondered if anyone ever did use their bathroom!! We popped back to the room really just to change from swimmers to gymn clothes or visa versa and then to get ready for dinner. We had tea and coffee facilities in the room and so were able to make a drink when we fancied - but we also treated ourselves to a lovely coffee and healthy cake (!) in their cafe.
We will certainly go back again, probably in January just after a hectic Christmas!

Room Tip: i don't think there is a bad room here. We have only ever had a standard twin or tripple room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancingchocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A very nice spa for total relaxation.Sitting in the midst of acres of woodland and pond.This is ideal place to unwind.A picturesque hunting lodge with all facilities.We stayed there for 2 days and used many of the facilities including massage which was divine.I just loved cycling in the wilderness.The are near the pond has rabbit holes from which rabbits play peak-a-boo.A pity they don't allow kids and toddlers.Food was something straight out of master chef and very healthy but not very tasty

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

A great way to celebrate a special birthday for my niece. Greeted by staff that were obviously happy to be there. Pleasant surroundings, peaceful round by the lake. Lunch was pleasant and plenty of it. The ONLY thing I wasn't happy with was the towelling robes. We were not asked what size we required but just handed one and mine was too small (I'm not skinny!) after asking for a larger one was given what was supposed to be large but it was still not bigger enough despite the act it had xxl as the size. I am NOT that big so felt uncomfortable with it. The sizing seems to be an issue with them. There were other people with the same problem not just me. Having said that we had a great day and the treatments were smashing. Would return for another pamper!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Along with two friends, we treated ourselves to a pamper day at Champneys Forest Mere. What a great day. We started with an amazing exercise class which was fun and jolly hard work (rebounding class). Following this I had probably the best massage I've had in a very long time (and I've had quite a few). We used the lovely facilities, marvellous lunch and finished the day with a perfect manicure. Would highly recommend Forest Mere and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binky023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Three friends and I spent a weekend (two days, once night) here on the 'girls night in break' and had a wonderful relaxing weekend. Service was superb, treatments were excellent and the setting is lovely. Overall the weekend was very good value on this deal, and we paid a little extra to check in early and have lunch on the first day. Food was great, plentiful and tasty. We had standard rooms, on the third floor and in the eaves but very pleasant (not huge, but certainly not too teeny) with a view over the lake. We were lucky enough to have a sunny weekend, so spent a lot of down-time sitting outside, not sure it would been quite as good on a rainy weekend as the indoor sitting-around areas were more limited. I presume it was a busy time for them but nowhere ever crowded, which added to the relaxing atmosphere. Two tiny peeves though: complimentary tea and coffee was served after dinner, but had to be paid for during the day, which seems a little unnecessary and the products (shower gel, conditioner, cleanser etc) in the changing rooms, whilst plentiful, didn't appear to be of very good quality (not Champneys brand).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibblesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
4.3 mi away
Grayshott Medical Spa
Grayshott Medical Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
6.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,073 reviews
13.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champneys Forest Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champneys Forest Mere

Property: Champneys Forest Mere
Address: Forest Mere Portsmouth Road, Liphook GU30 7JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champneys Forest Mere 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Champneys Forest Mere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champneys Forest Mere Health Hotel Liphook
Champneys Forest Mere Health Liphook
Champneys Forest Mere Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing