We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Eco-Pod Spa Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Eco-Pod Spa Break”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

3 friends and myself stayed in the eco-pods for a spa break and we had a great time.

When I called and made my booking with the spa team they were very helpful and my booking was made with ease, they were able to book us all in for our treatments at the same time with 4 different therapists which I though was great as we weren’t separated for long.

When we arrived at 1pm we were greeted by a male receptionist who I felt was quite unhelpful, he said our pods weren’t ready until 3pm and to come back then to check in and then he walked off. Another member of staff came to reception and I asked her if she could check to see if just one of the pods were ready so we could leave our bags and get ready to go to the spa, she was very helpful had a look and told me that both our pods were ready and we could check in early.

We were very surprised with the pods, even though they look very small from the outside we felt they were quite spacey inside and enough room for a 1 nights stay, we made use of the outside space too even in October we were able to sit outside on the chairs provided and enjoy a bottle of bubbly.

We then went to the spa and felt like we were being pampered from the beginning, we were given slippers and towels and shown around, we made use of all the facilities which we felt were great, we even asked if we were able to get a bottle of bubbly to drink in the relaxation room which they said was no trouble and went and got one from the bar for us. We all had back massages which were amazing, my therapists was called Tanya and I could not fault the massage she gave me. I wish we were able to have more treatments but they were fully booked very far in advance.

Once we were finished in the spa we went back to our pods to get ready for dinner, we enjoyed the carvery which was nice and then enjoyed a great night in the sports bar and then the champagne bar. We went back to the spa the next day to enjoy the facilities again as they were so relaxing.

I will defiantly be coming back here for another girls weekend and also booking for one with the men as I hear the golf is very good too!!

Room Tip: Pods are cosy but have everything you need, iron, hairdryer and tea facilities! They were very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca321_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    343
    192
    136
    107
See reviews for
202
350
21
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Old Thorns Manor during a friends wedding. The hotel grounds are fantastic and there was a lot to explore. The bar and the coffee shop is great. The room that we stayed in however was a bit dated. This was unfortunate as some of the other friends who stayed at the hotel at the same time got more modern and bigger rooms. The beds were massive and were comfortable enough. The breakfast the next morning was great with plenty of selections and great coffee. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vtrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham UK
Level Contributor
243 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business
The leisure facilities are brilliant ate in the sports bar nice food and good service. breakfast in the morning had plenty of choice and it was nice to look out over the golf course whilst eating.
Reception very helpful and efficient

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate once in the sports bar on a friends birthday. Expected it to be expensive being a 4 star hotel. Sadly the food was not up to the standards of the price it cost. It had the ‘thrown in the basket’ look. The only choices in the main restaurant are a carvery and the Hot Rocks Menu (which I think defeats the object of 'eating out' which is when YOU ‘cook you meat at your table’

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Attended for a Saturday wedding and booked a double room-room 310.

Good points:
Bed comfortable apart for where the join was (two beds pushed together).
Clean bathroom and powerful shower.
Plentiful parking.

Bad points:
Our room wasn't in the main building and didn't feel as secure as it had no reception or staff around.
Stained carpet in the bedroom.
Cracks in the paint that made it feel neglected.
Dirty skirting boards, especially behind curtain.
Sloped ceiling meant that there was a gap between curtain and wall resulting in the extremely bright flood light outside the window, pouring in and falling across the pillows-even with eyes closed it was bright!).

And the worst point for us in the bedroom: our window didn't lock or even shut properly due to the handle and lock being broken and hanging off. We let the reception know and they said they would send the manager up to have a look. Eight hours later we returned to the room and it hadn't been touched and so spent the night with a window that wouldn't shut fully, not great in October! Told reception in the morning and there was no apology, she just said 'ok'.

Actually the attitude of staff overall was lack lustre. It is as though all who work there are full of self-importance and think that the hotel is something greater than it is (hence the astronomical room prices and drink prices). None smiled even when smiled at, there was no apology when we pointed out we had a room that we couldn't make secure, the bar staff served people out of order of them arriving at the bar, the bar was understaffed, we were told to move at breakfast to a different part of the restaurant, we were spoken to a bit like we were in the way and an inconvenience...you get the idea I am sure.

Obviously we would not go back and if we were at another wedding there, would just get a taxi or not drink so could drive home (not so much of an option for those travelling any great distance). If this was a hotel that charged £60 a night then we would rate it more favourably but at over double that (with wedding party discount) and marketing as a four star and with terrible customer service, it can only be described as disappointing at best.

Tip: If you live two hours or less away, go home after the wedding-it is not worth the cost of staying there.



Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We got married at old thorns on 11 October. To say it went perfectly was an understatement. The hotel is amazing and The staff are dedicated and can not do enough for you. Our wedding was run with military precision. The food was out of this world too.
Tiffany was our wedding co ordinator, she was always at the end of the phone if I was panicking about preparations, Justina was our toastmaster on the day and she was fabulous. So helpful and organised. Diane was the banqueting manager I believe and she was also superb.

I can not to recommend this hotel enough , every aspect of it great.

All of our guest that stated are looking at going back. We're planning it already :-)

Fabulous place !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed there after a nearby wedding . arrived late but no problems ,very large room with a massive bed ..plenty of choice at breakfast but short on staff when after a coffee refill . tried to charge for a deposit which i had already paid but quickly sort out by the reception staff .. nice to have a quiet coffee in starbucks next day with friends ..would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing