We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend at Old Thorns Manor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend at Old Thorns Manor Hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend for two nights with several work colleagues as a prize through our work, and I have to say that our stay here was really good. The rooms were a good size, well presented, with nice bathroom, and very quiet. We were all in the section of rooms down the bottom near the pods (my room overlooked the car park but it was quiet, whereas some of my colleagues were in rooms overlooking the grounds and the pods).

We had a meal the first night in the main restaurant (it was the carvery meal) which was really good, followed by drinks in the sports bar and terrace, as the weather was so lovely. The Saturday morning was spent leisurely starting off with the breakfast which again was good. We left late morning to spend the afternoon at an activity centre (our company had organised an afternoon of activities starting with clay pigeon shooting, powerturns and hoverides etc, all good fun) coming back late afternoon to chill out by having a swim, sauna etc in the lovely leisure section of the hotel. I didn't go to the gym, but one of the group did and said the gym was amazing.

Dinner in the evening was again good, upstairs in one of the rooms above the Sports bar. Drinks followed in the Champagne bar downstairs. Sunday morning we all had breakfast and then left to go back home. We all thought this hotel was good, and at all times the staff were efficient and courteous. A group of us thought we would like to try this hotel again for a ladies spa weekend or something if we can get a good package. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooked the grounds which are lovely but some of them were near the pods. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaegerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    350
    197
    139
    108
See reviews for
208
360
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I visited the hotel booked by my boyfriend as a surprise. We had a day booked to use the spa facilities and one treatment each.

The day was amazing.

As we had paid for a break day that was on a deal we expected to be treated slightly different from the members but this was not the case at all and we felt very at home.
The staff were overly accomodating, especially the lady on the spa reception that checked us in and took payment. She showed us around and could not have been more friendlier or helpful (sorry I didn't get her name but she had brown hair!)
The lady that did my massage and facial was friendly and made me feel very comfortable.

Our lunch was great! There was a great choice of options and the deserts were to die for. There was no pressure not to go up to the buffet more than once which we also thought might be the case as we booked a deal but again we did not experience this.

It was a lovely experience and we both truly enjoyed our time. We will definitely be returning and this time hopefully booking one of the pods that also look fab!

To add to that, once I got home and a few days after I realised I'd left my Tiffany necklace there. I phoned them and they told me that they would look for it asap. They did and found it, got back to me within the hour and offered to have it sent to me in the post. This was exeptional customer service.

Thank you Old Thorns for a great days experience and for your genuine help with my necklace :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inez91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Old Thorns for Sunday lunch but quickly regretted our decision. The pricing structure was extremely attractive unlike the food. The roast beef was probably the toughest we had ever encountered and prepared using a secret recipe which removed all the flavour. There were mountains of various vegetables which proved to be hard or cooked to oblivion. The staff were attentive and very professional just a big shame about the food. The hotel itself would easily provide a set for an edition of footballers wives dressed as it is for a wags convention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirchubalock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two full days and one night for a golfing event with a small group of friends. I have been to this venue a number of times over the years and it keeps getting better. The champagne bar is particularly good and the bedrooms now of excellent standard and quiet. We didn't get back from the golf links until well gone 9pm but managed an excellent meal. The staff were great and hats off to the lady bar tender who managed a particularly difficult and rowdy group of men in the very late hours. With all the spa services, an excellent gym and pool and delightful surroundings this place should appeal to non golfers as much as the sport enthusiasts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked a spa night deal for myself and my sister as her birthday treat. Special offer on so cost £69 each. Room was lovely, food was excellent and staff could not have been more efficient and courteous. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Attended a relatives wedding, staying over the Friday and Saturday night.

First impressions were favourable. Old Thorns appears in a lovely setting, but with modern architecture. Other positives were the catering, especially the breakfast. However staff were perhaps over attentive, take plates away the moment one had finished eating.

On the down side, the room, although pleasantly appointed, could have been cleaner (dust and cobwebs) and was too hot with no effective method of cooling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJohnson194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We attended a wedding reception here, although I live in the area I've never actually been here. Pulled up outside, lovely summers evening, the place looks lovely, modern, clean, sleek. When we eventually found out the location of the wedding we were going to, the function suite was nicely laid out, and a good size room.
Being with friends and family naturally helps the ambience of the event , however the food served for the evening buffet was diabolical. Dried sandwiches, burnt pizza slices, bowls of sour cream with no serving implements so everyone just dips their potato wedges in them there and then. I wouldn't of served this sort of food at a kids party, let alone a wedding reception.
The other thing was the moody and ignorant staff that we had contact with, not all of them, but quite a lot. The most entertaining was watching a guest and the bartender have a full on argument, with the staff member back chatting to him - very professional NOT.
I wouldn't recommend the venue based on those few hours that I was there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,072 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
501 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grayshott Medical Spa
Grayshott Medical Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
556 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing