We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spa treatments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good spa treatments”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited for one night on a special deal. Easy to find and lots of parking available. Reception service was hit and miss during the stay. Initial book in was good and the male receptionist was very helpful but later in the day the older woman on reception was unhelpful and rude, it seemed she felt being on there was beneath her. The staff up in the spa were excellent as was the massage, very relaxing and totally recommended. The jacuzzi was nice and steam room & sauna good quality. The overall layout is a bit sprawling and it would perhaps help to have a plan - would stop me walking through the bar in my bathrobe! The sports bar serves pretty good (& huge) bar food and in the evening the carvery was standard fayre but lots of it and decent quality. Wine list ok too and staff attentive and helpful. Would definitely stay again, especially on a good deal.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    341
    191
    136
    106
See reviews for
200
349
21
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went to a wedding here on Valentines day, lovely setting and beautiful view from the wedding chaple. The staff were very helpful . Someone on hand to help with the organization of every aspect of the wedding. Our room was spacious with a huge bed which was very comfortable. Nice big shower, the only down fall was a massive cobweb above the curtains and thick dust on the curtain pole, apart from that everthing was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moores77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in December, at short notice, & wasn't disappointed.
The room was large, with a very comfy mattress, good bedding & table / chairs.
It was a filthy wet night, and my only gripe is the walk [run] between reception and the bedroom 'block'..!
Needless to stay once in the room, I stayed there until morning, when still raining had to dash across to the main building for breakfast.I'd received no info on times, or where this was being served & so asked at reception.A very pleasant lady showed me to the restaurant, where there is a superb choice, complete with all the usual breads.My only gripe here is the coffee.It's served individually by cup, & so you do end up waiting until you catch a waitress, and this can be a bit annoying, apot would be just so much better !
However That said I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast, and was satisfied.
My dash back to the room prior to check out, was then jumping over puddles !
Not great if your'e disabled at all.....but otherwise, something remedied by providing transport perhaps.You are left to find the room alocated yourself, and this is a large hotel.
My room number was announced at reception when checking in to all around, [ including a group of male guests.....not too impressive, for a single female travelling alone].

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just got back from a girls night in overnight spa package.

Fab!

You get a lovely room, buffet dinner and breakfast and two treatments at a great price.

Super value, gorge room, great facilities and helpful and polite staff.

Have booked to go again already !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taranic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package between Christmas and New Year. We opted for an Eco Pod for something a bit different and we weren't disappointed. If you're not into camping then maybe just stick to the hotel but if you want something different and don't mind running outside to the toilet blocks then the Eco Pods are cozy, warm and fun. The fact that the hotel is right on your doorstep gives you the best of both worlds.

The Spa was great, really lovely staff. We both had great massages and enjoyed the relaxation room very much. The gym is probably the best gym I've ever seen, with state-of-the-art equipment and loads of variety. The pool was lovely and the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were great (although I thought the aroma steam room could have been more aromatic!). The changing facilities and showers were brilliant too.

The carvery in the evening was lovely - the only annoying thing was the Christmas CD on repeat! The staff were young by well rehearsed and we felt looked after. Breakfast was plentiful - good coffee too.

I think it helped that it was really quiet when we visited, although apparently there were two weddings going on whilst we were there! I would definitely recommend this place and it's really easy to get too which is always a bonus.

Room Tip: The Eco Pods are great fun - give it a try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst on a work conference and I really liked the hotel, it has something different about it. The room I had was outside the hotel, but the beds were comfy and had coffee facilities and biscuits.
I didn't get to try the spa but it looked fab!
As it was a conference we had dinner provided and thought it was pretty good. But cannot comment on the resturants as we did not use them, but lunch buffet was great.
I would come and stay here again but when not working so I can make use of the spa. I have seen some good deals for this hotel... I would say book it, you will enjoy the hotel, grounds, spa and Starbucks .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixxy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Terrible service in the Champagne Bar and Restaurant all day was a complete surprise and most unwelcome on this "Special" day. Our complaints at the time and by Email have been completely ignored by Old Thorns. Rated as 4Star, the service would not score 2Stars. No complaints about the food-Just appalling service and attitude.

Room Tip: Did not stay. Boxing Day Special Lunch only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CastleBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing