We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb food, served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Having just been on a two week trip to Thailand my girlfriend and I were begining to miss the excellent food we'd had whilst out there, so we had a look around and decided on Tatiya.

We could NOT have made a better choice. A cosy, quiet, restaurant. The food was top draw, and instantly brought back memories of our superb holiday. Friendly staff served us our food with a warm smile and encouraging words for our poor attempts at speaking Thai.

Highly recommended !

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprised at the amazing reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were both looking forward to trying out this Thai place due to the great reviews. Ordered green curry and beef with cashew nut. Both lacked the flavours that we were expecting. The beef was quite bland while the green curry was split (the coconut had separated from the rest of the sauce so it was lumpy). We also ordered the chicken satay which came with a delicious peanut sauce but the chicken itself was dry. I don't know if they had an off night but in the end, we will not be coming back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food in havant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We are very lucky to have such a lovely thai restaurant in Havant. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the food was as they state traditional and home made. we were a table of six and enjoyed it so much we have booked again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Raine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fabulous all-round experience !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We found this lovely restaurant from a review in the Portsmouth News. The waitresses are attentive, welcoming and friendly. The food was fresh and just packed full of flavours, truely authentic. We also found they had a good fine wine selection, the bottle we chose was well worth the money.

Highly recommended !!

Here is the review by Carol Godsmark

http://www.portsmouth.co.uk/lifestyle/tn2-saturday/a-weekend-with/a_bowlful_of_comfort_1_2648935

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience,have been to Thailand, evoked wonderful memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Excellent restaurant to visit, staff were charming and knowledgable, food fresh, all home made and high quality. There were 4 of us and we opted for set menu A and set menu B at £19.50 a head.
We had three courses. A mixed starter including small thai fishcakes which were delicious with chicken satay, dips and ribs. The main consisted of 4 dishes plus rice which were all wonderful including king prawns with cashews, which was my favourite. Icecream for dessert and coffee to finish. Exactly like the great cuisine we experienced in Thailand. Will definately visit again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Havant, Hampshire
Havant, Hampshire
 
Havant, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing