We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, expensive, disappointing customer service”
Review of The Phoenix Inn

The Phoenix Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Phoenix is a historic and magnificent building in a prime location, with a large car park and a beautiful, peaceful garden. The food is simple, fresh, as much as possible local. Andrew Ryder, chef proprietor is passionate about provenance and seasonality. The menu changes frequently, to allow for seasonal favourites. The service is friendly and informal, staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. There is always a good selection of real ales and the extensive wine list suits all tastes and pockets.
Lightwater, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Over-rated, expensive, disappointing customer service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were a group of 6, we had an early reservation on Sat June 22nd (6.30pm) as we had all been to LowdeFest, a local music festival. I had read reviews on Trip Advisor and was a little concerned about the service; this proved correct. Thanks Trip Advisor!! Pleasant ambience, for a pub and busy even early on a Saturday night but customer service attitude was poor. Two of us had hardly sat down and we were asked about 3 or more times what we wanted to drink, when we said we would wait for the rest of party ! (A pet hate of mine).

We were given the Saturday menu showing starters and mains. Starters (vary from £5-10) and are almost as expensive as some of the mains and none of us were bothered. We asked whether we could have any nibbles to share like olives, crisps or nuts. We were told quite coldly and dismissively no. As there is a bar there we found this somewhat implausible and they must have had olives as one person's dinner had olives in it! But it was the dismissive attitude which did not impress any of us.

We ordered drinks, when asked if one of our party wanted ice in his orange juice he said no. So the orange juice came .. with ice in it! OK niggly small things but it began to grate...

Food was OK - nothing spectacular. I had a pleasant roast salmon dish, my husband had a burger. Mains were £9- over £20 . Deserts at £6 were OK . One had a cheese plate but at £7.50 I thought it was poor, more biscuits than cheese, and no grapes/celery to accompany it and he had to ask for butter.

Bill came which was a little bit wrong. It got rectified but as they charge 10% service for tables of
6 and more, we left no more than we needed to !

Shame. Nice evening with friends but none of us would return or recommend this pub as believe you get better food and value elsewhere... We paid £49 per couple, for mains and deserts and drinks (only 3 on wine).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Neese50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    162
    64
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hadn't been here for a couple of years and since I was in the area with an elderly friend, I decided to book a table for lunch. A good move, since it was very busy. We arrived just before midday (Sunday) and waited in the bar area until restaurant had been set up. Sadly we were unable to have a coffee to keep us occupied while we waited! Restaurant area was a delight and tables well spaced. The young waiting staff were very pleasant and efficient and the service was very smooth. We both decided on the salmon, which was perfectly cooked (can so easily be ruined!) and then shared a summer pudding - which was totally delicious. A nice touch was proper table linen - not the awful paper napkins! A really good experience and will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hampshirehog917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Roast in South England”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere and superb food and beer. Beautifully kept, friendly service and interesting vehicles outside.

Will be back many times

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous Roast Sirloin!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited on Sunday 9th June and yet again we were not disappointed! The four of us all ordered the roast sirloin of beef and OMG it was fabulous...! Amazing puddings.... Summer Pudding, Lime Cheesecake, delicious!
Leisurely lunch, fantastic ambience and wonderful vino!
Consistently good, most def the best Sunday roast around! Xx

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissSallySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Farthers day experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked well in advance and tried to book a high chair only to be told it was a first come first served basis. On arrival, no other children in restaurant and told the only high chair already booked, obviously a regular was dining that day. Luckily we had a child friendly seat with the party. No children's menu available but looking at the sign in the ladies toilet I don't thing the restaurant encourage young families. Starters were OK apart from the obvious mistake by the kitchen/waitress where the Fois Gras and Pate were mistaken for one and other. Scallops were a bit tasteless with not much flavour, other starters were ok. Main course were mainly sliced beef steak as a beef roast. Beef was extremely rare and vegetables had too many herbs, parsnips to sweet, roast potatoes not crisp enough, Yorkshire pudding dry and tasteless.
Restaurant doesn't seem to advertise baby changing area, then when you try and change a baby's nappy, comments made by staff and management as to why customer is not using the facilities, no advice given as to where facilities were.

Not happy that service charge was already added to the bill. If we had not brought a child friendly seat we would not have been able to enjoy this meal. It doesn't cost much for a restaurant to invest in a few high chairs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix Inn also viewed

Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 

Been to The Phoenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing