We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elvetham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elvetham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartley Wintney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Room was spacious and clean. Building itself is amazing.
I had heard other guests complain that their room was too warm though.
Breakfast was tasty and had plenty of choice.
Had a great stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    125
    44
    18
    6
See reviews for
84
71
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My daughter and her fiance chose the Elvetham for their wedding last Sunday, and it could not have been better for a special occasion. The very Gothic house and grounds have a very "stately home" feel about it with ornate and lavish architecture and detail. The staff were superb, very polite, attentive, and it is evident they maintain the public areas of the house meticulously. The food in the evening was delicious and beautifully prepared, and the breakfast outstanding with a full buffet to cater for every taste. Our room (211) on the top floor in the roof space was a strangely shaped suite with a series of small areas linked together, but well appointed and providing all the usual requirements, including wi-fi and a decent-sized flat-screen TV. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the views across the gardens very charming.
The only down-side was typical of older properties and perhaps unfair to criticise, but it was quite cold on waking in the morning until the heating had built up (to be fair, they supplied an electric radiator as well), and the shower over the bath was slightly disappointing with a short blast of hot water followed by only tepid.
However, I would be inclined to overlook these minor issues and would happily visit the Elvetham again, as the overall impression was quite delightful and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John080347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great looking place but suffers what many great English houses converted to hotels do: Great public areas but disappointing rooms. Reasonably clean and comfortable but very dated rooms. I was there for a large event and the food was surprisingly good but the service was pretty poor. Breakfast finished at 10 which I thought was early for a Sunday. In any case at 80 pounds for the night it was fair value, I would have been disappointed if I paid much more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinklilly25
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night whilst on a 2 day conference. This is a beautiful venue that offers fantastic service and quality. All of the food provided was to the highest quality and all staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were light, airy and spacious and I have to say the bed was the best I have slept in when away on business. Would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

good hotel, great price for a inclusive deal for evening meal.
Food was excellent quality
Staff and service very good
old building with great architectural features.
Splendid grounds, very well kept
Free internet in room
nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, berks
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night following a wedding. The hotel is a beautiful ex stately home in well kept grounds. The reception staff were very efficient and went out of thier way to help. The hotel is a wonderful wedding venue, with lots of different reception rooms and a well stocked bar. The food served at the wedding reception was very tasty and plentiful but could have been hotter - there is nothing worse than tepid veg! Breakfast was a mix of hot and cold buffet and again the food was excellent and plentiful.

Our room was in the main hotel and was huge with great views across the grounds. The bathroom was also large and both rooms were very clean and well cared for. The huge bed was very comfortable and had good quality linen.

It's worth noting that, although it is some distant away, the incessant drone of the M3 is there in the background.

So why not an exellent? This was the coldest hotel room that we have ever stayed in. There was an extra electric radiator that we had to switch on but the bathroom was still freezing. The water pressure in the shower is very poor - we had to move around to get wet. There was only one set of towels in a double room. The attention to every detail is what takes a hotel from very good to excellent and, unfortunately, is not given at The Elvetham.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annensteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

May I say on behalf on both the Bride and Groom and both sets of parents that we were truely impressed and immensley happy with the service received from all the staff who helped at Jamie and Krista's wedding on Saturday. It would be unfair to single one individual out as together eveyone made this a true day to remember with their efficiency, tactfulness and what appeared to be genunine happiness which contributed so much to the day. Also worked with both the photographers and DJ in order to make their job as professional and comfortable as possible.

The setting is spectacular and the wedding breakfast was delicious, the rooms very comfortable, delicious breakfast and whats more loads of free parking.

Thank you for contributing in making the day such a great success - would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 611bosslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartley Wintney
4.5 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
1.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elvetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elvetham

Property: The Elvetham
Address: Fleet Road, Hartley Wintney, Hook RG27 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Hartley Wintney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartley Wintney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elvetham 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elvetham is a privately owned country mansion, taking great pride in delivering outstanding customer service and attention to detail. We are located just outside Hartley Wintney, a quaint little village in Hampshire, surrounded by rolling countryside and beautiful views. Our fascinating history dates back many centuries yet our modern approach to our customers is fulfilled with dedication and professionalism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elvetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elvetham Hotel Hartley Wintney
Elvetham Hartley Wintney
Elvetham Hotel Hartley Wintney
The Elvetham Hartley Wintney, Hampshire - Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing