We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great littel pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waggon and Horses

Waggon and Horses
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great littel pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lovely welcoming Staff and customers, warm and friendly. Good selection of beers and wines. I will definitely go back. Thank you

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A proper pub.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great atmosphere here. Warm inviting fire, cosy snug and a landlord that remembers your name. A refreshing change!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joanned907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Rare Find . . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Wagon & Horses can't be rated as a restaurant, but as a pub it's great. It's unusual, as it seems to have escaped the usual refurbishments given to English pubs over the last 100 years, including the advent of credit cards !
Well kept draft ales are a treat. Loved the log fire with hearth flush with the bare wooden floor.
Foodwise, there's an upgraded bar snacks menu with no deserts. If you like gastro-pubs this definitely not for you. If you like an old fashioned pub with lovely ales you'll love it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blokey Ale House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Wagon and horses is a pub first and foremost, its the only highstreet pub in Hartley Wintney. Its from another time. I've only been in the public bar which has low ceilings, is dark, old fashioned and very blokey. It is certainly unpretentious. It provides a nice contrast to the the more sophisticated establishments around. A good place for a pint or two before a curry with the lads. I did not eat there - and I was not in the eating bit - that said, I'm not sure I would eat there as the atmosphere I witnessed in the public bar was lively.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice unpretentious pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Got here too late for lunch (at 2:15pm on a Monday), but we had a couple of pints anyway and were glad we did.

As others have mentioned, this is a proper pub: friendly, popular but not crowded, with good beer. I had a pint of Dark Star Green-Hopped IPA. Wow. What a tasty pint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waggon and Horses also viewed

Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 

Been to Waggon and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing