We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in very pleasant surroundings”
Review of The Cricketers pub

The Cricketers pub
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set on the oldest continually played upon cricket green in the world, this delightfully traditional English pub offers delicious homemade food and fine real ales. It is dog and child friendly and also boasts a cosy beer garden for summer use or open fires to relax next to in the winter.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food in very pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Enjoyed our meal at the Cricketers yesterday. There was a good selection of starters and main courses and a great choice of ice cream. The lamb was beautifully cooked and the sea bass was delicious. Would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Woktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    37
    38
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and charming”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Absolutely loved it here. The food was scrumptious and service warm and friendly. I love the open fire in the bar area too. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona_lisa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I must say with all honesty, New Year’s Eve in the Cricketers was sublime, the food was better than excellent as was the atmosphere, the evening was an all ticket Black Tie dinner with an auction of gastronomic books that had been signed by the relevant chiefs, all for charity. I fortunately purchased Tom Kerridge;s Proper Pub Food. The evening ended with a wonderful touch from Mark Thornehill the Landlord and his slick team at the Cricketers, with everyone being given a lantern to write a message or a wish for the New Year and realised. Fantastic food, company and entertainment had by all who attended. Certainly one of my best New Year’s ever.

Thanks Guys

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reheated leftovers and overpriced”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Was in the area for a wedding and wanted to a good comforting pub meal on a late December Sunday evening and we read good reviews and came here. Pub itself was lovely and service professional, if a little divorced from welcoming. We were told the dining area was fully booked but were happy to eat in the bar area. However, other non booked diners were able to get a table once we sat down and not other diners arrived in the 7-8.30pm slot we were there so clearly something awry there. On the menu was basically the same roast platter with alternative meat options. We went for roast beef and pork belly. When the plates arrived the food was all stacked in the centre of the plate, trying too hard to be modern British, but in reality, was simply hiding, burnt reheated roast potatoes, cold stale, reheated Yorkshire puddings, and what tasted like bisto gravy - ie tasteless. The meats themselves were well cooked but tiny portions. The veg was freshly cooked. However, overall, this was a very lazy effort from the establishment - we paid £13 plus each for the meal and frankly - no one should expect this quality for this price. We did complain to the perfectly good waitress, who said she would pass on our comments - but we offered nothing more or any apology. Shame really, as it would not have taken much effort to ensure we had an adequate dining experience. Lazy lazy lazy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CricketersHW, General Manager at The Cricketers pub, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Robbie,

Thank you for your comments and patience whilst we had the opportunity to look into the matter further. I have now had the occasion to discuss your comments in detail with Hayleigh Cook, Head Chef for The Cricketers and the other senior members of staff on duty on the evening in question. Please be assured Hayleigh has expressed the seriousness of the matter and the value of the comments raised, and in turn they have been utilized with the entire team during the daily briefing. Hayleigh has asked to extend his personal apologies to you for the disappointment caused.

In the course of my dialogue with the team at The Cricketers I have received various explanations as to why some of the errors you encountered occurred. This is meant in no way as an effort to offer excuses for the sub standard service you received but may clarify some of the reasoning behind it.

Having spoken to all to decipher your comments posted, it was explained to me that you were already seated in the bar area and that there was an offer for you and your wife to use the dining room. This in no way forgives the response you received by our bar team that should have been more communicative and accommodating if this was the fact and your preference. Helen your server for the evening was upset to learn that she gave the impression of ‘being divorced’ with your party and she certainly recalls having numerous conversations throughout your visit, having made a number of ‘check backs’ during your meal. No mention of any of your posted comments was made to any of our team on the evening concerned other than the size of the beef portion which was again was 7 oz?

We all know we experience very busy and sometimes strained periods during service, but this should of course not be apparent to our guests. We regularly remind all our restaurant/bar teams of the value of a smile and I have already picked up your feedback.

Perhaps most troubling of all is the comments you make regarding the general standard and portion size of our food as mentioned above. As you know we pride ourselves on the highest levels of guest care and food provenance, it is most troubling that you felt there to have been a serious downturn in the quality being offered. Our pork belly and beef portion are over 7oz and we must disagree that this is fact as you mention, tiny. You also mention a ‘platter’ dish - we have never offered such a dish here during my service at The Cricketers? Our Sunday roast menu runs throughout the day and evening every Sunday and never are any 'leftovers' ever offered – quite the opposite, everything is cooked fresh to order.

Nothing here is ever reheated, or is our gravy made from Bisto; we ‘stock pot’ our gravies and jus, and our meat is sourced from the best butchers in the south of the UK, and all that we believe is an adequate portion size.

Robbie, we would like to discuss your experience here further and if you felt it appropriate we could perhaps speak on the telephone? I fully appreciate e-mail or public forums are often not the best platform for fully explaining ones concerns. Should you wish to do so I can be contacted directly on 01252 842166.

The details you have shared with us will certainly not be used to penalize staff in anyway and we have been pleased how proactive the response has been for this team. We do very much hope that you will return to The Cricketers in due course as our guest. As and when you do have the opportunity to return, I would ask that you contact me in advance in order that I may make the arrangements on your behalf. I fully appreciate that throughout this process your intentions have been entirely constructive.

Robbie, in closing, I would just like to thank you and your wife, again for taking the time and trouble to share your concerns. Until we have the opportunity of welcoming you again to The Cricketers, I remain at your disposal. Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Mark Thornhill – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Cricketers a superb place to dine”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a superb meal cook served by the friendliest staff with the greatest smiles. The cheese soufflé for starters is best starter I have ever had, the main of steak was cooked to perfection and the honey cake is out of this world. The chef must be one of the best in Hampshire!
I would highly recommend this lovely village pub/restaurant. Fantastic !!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricketers pub also viewed

Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cricketers pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing