We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable meal”
Review of Golden Triangle

Golden Triangle
Ranked #26 of 75 Restaurants in Fleet
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hampshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

There were 4 of us and 2 children. The little ones were made welcome even when the 6 year old asked for fish and chips!! However he did enjoy his chivken curry. The prawn dish my husband chose we sll voted excellent. Value for money cant say we didnt pay it was the son in law's turn

  • Visited May 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    19
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check your bill for drink prices”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The food at The Golden Triangle is excellent and we had a lovely meal there last night. My rating is based on the fact they overcharged for drinks. This is not the first time this has happened. My husband and I stopped going to The Golden Triangle a few years back for a similar reason and have only recently returned. We won't be going back which is a shame as the food is very good. My advice if you do go is to double check your bill and make sure the drinks charges are correct.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plumduff38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than your usual high street Indian”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Visited last night with a few friends. A warm and friendly welcome as we came in and waiter was very attentive. I went for the Lamb Sula as a main - excellent. Great flavours and very tender lamb. Also ordered a side of the tikka masala sauce which was also excellent. Food was well presented, and couldn't really fault them on anything.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GWRHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gets Better and Better!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It’s been a few months since I last visited the Golden Triangle in Fleet, Hants. However, visiting a friend to stay the weekend in town last weekend, we popped over for a Saturday night meal at the insistence of my friend, who swore that this was quite the best Indian in Fleet!

To my surprise, instead of perhaps maintaining an even keel or for that matter even lowering its standards, the restaurant has got even better! This isn’t just because there’s been an interior refurbishment here, but also because the overall standard of the cooking has also improved immensely and it was already very good when I last reviewed it after it introduced a new A la Carte menu.

Quite the opposite of a typical high street Indian, they have a whole team of chefs that have been brought over from India, so one is left in no doubt that the flavours here are authentic – albeit rendered with a certain refinement - robust and really quite addictive!

You can spot a level of modernity slipping into the presentation as soon as the dishes arrive, without though in any way making the items pretentious in any way. Everything had an individual taste, the tandoori items are aromatic and deliciously smoked, the tender “ajwani” salmon perfectly partnered with carom and the creamy mushrooms, infused with cardamom and stuffed with cheese, subtly flavoured with chillies, an unmissable treat.

For mains, one is very spoilt for choice with the restaurant offering a host of “specials” from which the standouts include the comforting almond and coconut butter lamb along with the pot-roasted Punjabi duck that packs a grown and spicy punch without being too hot.

There are a number of usual Indian restaurant standards here to boot, but that’s fine because the cooking is so professionally done and honed in here – and believe me, being a London resident, I eat in a lot of restaurants so I know quality when I see it – that with practically whatever you order, nine times out of ten, you are likely to be very pleased. I’ve eaten here twice now and with friends raving about this place, guess I’ll have to eat here again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too Hot!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My starter which I've had many times was so hot that it had no taste and made the rest of my meal completely tasteless as my mouth was still on fire! The service was awful, the staff were only interested in getting the takeaways out. Would not recommend to anyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Triangle also viewed

 

Been to Golden Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing