We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value pub”
Review of The Prince Arthur

The Prince Arthur
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Fleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Good value pub”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I always go in during lunch time - so can't comment on the 'vibe' at night but it has friendly staff, regularly has a full pub at lunch time and has a good range of beer (and other drinks) at a very good price.

We tend to go for cheesy chips - a good bowl full but not the healthiest meal ever (our choice of course!) - has a very small but sunny rear patio which is nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    51
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good beer and food - it's what you ask from a pub!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We go into the Arthur on a regular basis because the beer quality has improved enormously over the last couple of years that Dan has been running the pub. Getting the CAMRA Good Beer Guide accolade was great for us beer drinkers!
The regular staff are friendly and knowledgeable too. The only downside is that sometimes they are tied as to which beers they can put up, and the choices sometimes narrow considerably, but that is a problem that we address with Wetherspoons directly.
We eat there too, the food is 'pub grub' which is good VFM, the steak Tuesday and fish Friday being our favourites.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fish and Chip Friday is the business”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Called in with my wife on Friday 21st March with another couple, we all had lightly battered cod, chips and mushy peas and it was cooked to perfection. Could not believe the size of the fish, they were thick cut pieces of cod which was twice the size of what you would get in a fish and chip shop. We all got a free alchoholic drink as well for the total price of £6.09 each, unbelievable value and perhaps even more surprisingly great quality as well. The range of real ales on sale was also impressive, my friend and I went for the house local ale, it was called Longdog Winning Co-ALE-ition which went very well with the fish and chips. We neded up staying the whole night, My wife and I are originally from Blackpool so we like to think we know our fish and chips and very few can fish and chip shops better what we had at the Prince Arthur but none will better the price. We will be back every Friday evening now as this special treat is far too good to miss.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
453 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Prejudices destroyed!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've always quite liked the Wetherspoon 'take' on the traditional town centre pub - often nice old buildings, no music, good choice of beer etc - but I've always felt that for the price charged the food must be poor. Au contraire!!
It was 'Fish Friday' so i chose the cod and chips. £6 for a fair sized piece of cod - perfectly cooked - chips, mushy peas and a drink (in this case a quite reasonable house Merlot).
That was areal bargain. It certainly beats the £13 I paid somewhere nearby for a scrawny bit of fish and about 6 chips.

Good job JDW - I'll be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's cheap and cheerful - sometimes. We do go in quite often but use for what it is - a cheap convenient place for a beer after shopping and a cheap meal if we can't be bothered to cook. Cheerful unless you are served by one particular rude guy who needs a lesson or two in customer service but we deal with him as he deserves so no worries. We've tried all the special nights which are ok considering what they charge. We will continue to use it for what it is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Arthur also viewed

Crookham Village, Fleet
 

Been to The Prince Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing