We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make it”
Review of Lismoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lismoyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fleet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here on business, booked by a central booking system. I was pleasantly surprised by the location, on a quiet back road, with mature trees around a large car park. Nice entrance, quick reception, adequate room with everything one could want (save for my personal bête noir - no bottled water). Initial thought was a bit dated but to be fair, it grew on me - fed up with clinical hotels anyway. Went out for dinner with a colleague in Yateley (at an apparently up market hotel which was rubbish) but returned sober at 23.20 and was pleasantly surprised to find the bar open and happy to serve up a drink - hurrah! Glug. Had a good nights kip (rare event these days) and then a quite acceptable buffet breakfast, overseen by some busy and efficient staff. The key was the fact that the reception staff were polite, helpful and quick, the night porter/barman was polite, helpful and quick and guess what?, the breakfast staff were polite, helpful and quick...joy. Would I go back? Yes.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank CotswoldsSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 710 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I used this as an evening stop off and it was booked at the last minute. I think my room was in the newer part of the hotel (downstairs and room 31 I think)....either way it was a nice room and plenty spacious enough and with a good sized bathroom too.
I had dinner in the bar area and they were doing a deal on certain meals, so it was £10 (or maybe £11) for a beer and fish and chips, which I thought was pretty reasonably priced and nice a tasty too.
I had a good nights sleep and then a good breakfast too. It's a buffet affair and decent enough with a reasonable choice of hot and cold options.
As others have mentioned there is plenty of car parking and also free wifi in the hotel. It's off the main road too, so nice and quiet. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel.
The hotel is also reasonably accessible for wheelchair users....you have to access the hotel through a separate door but if you ring the hotel when you arrive, they'll come out and help you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mondayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

How the positive reviews on here are justified is beyond me.

It's in a good location but needs £2M of renovation work, it's dated, showing its age, shabby and I can live with that as sometimes it can be quite charming if the service and food is of high standard.

But it's not!

Get the basics right Guy's and you'll undoubtedly increase your occupancy rate three fold.

A real pity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lord_Hillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on business. Single room was very small, but clean and staff were friendly. As previous reviewers have mentioned you can hear everything that is going on next door as the walls are very thin. One morning I was woken up by next door's shower at 5am which wasn't great. Also a lot of noise with people walking upstairs until midnight.

Ate in the hotel twice - food was excellent, hot and well presented. Menu wasn't extensive but that wasn't a problem. Would recommend. Breakfast was adequate.

Taxi's in the area aren't reliable for timing, but the hotel offered to book later during the stay and then all was well - receptionist was helpful and friendly.

Well situated and Fleet high street was a 5 min walk with a small selection of shops and restaurants.

Free WiFi was also a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthieSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Used this hotel, just for 1 night - wished it had been for a week.

Staff very friendly and helpful, yet remained professional at all times.

Our room was first class in every respect. Would love to have taken the pillows home with us!

Breakfast was exceedingly good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our first visit was not what we expected and my comments on tripadvisor were replied to by the manager Jon in a professional manner, so much so he invited my partner and I to return and give them the opportunity to make amends from our last stay.

We returned in April and have had to wait to review the hotel again on tripadvisor which is their policy so here we are, our room was located at the rear of the hotel in one of the new wings, it was immaculately clean and modern, the bed was comfortable and it was peaceful and relaxing. The hotel was busy with a wedding taking place the next day so the restaurant was also busy when we went for dinner, our meal was presented quickly and the food was outstanding. After a good nights sleep we had a full english breakfast from the buffet, the staff ensured there was plenty to choose from as again the restaurant was busy with guests and the quality again was outstanding.

On checking out we were met by the manager who coincidentally was the breakfast chef that morning(clearly a man of many talents) whom I found to be a real gent, unfortunately we did not meet on our first visit but he and the staff of the hotel made our second visit one which I had to review to put he record straight, our faith in customer service has been restored on the strengths of Mr Gettings and his team, thank you!

We will definitely be returning to the Lismoyne on our next visit to the area and would recommend staying at the hotel whatever the occasion.

Room Tip: Annex wing was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macadabadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for our son's wedding (not at hotel) We lived in area for 20+ years and this hotel is an local landmark. Always there in the background when you need it. Our room was comfortable and clean, nothing to make it stand out from the crowd but all the usual bits and pieces including tea and coffee in room - which you don't always get now.
Breakfast is a buffet affair at weekends all reasonable fayre - need to watch when busy as they don't seem to be able to keep up (surely they know how many guests staying?) weekdays; cold buffet and hot breakfast cooked to order in conservatory by very cheery waitress on this occasion.
Bar area small when hotel full but other areas to spill out to (shame about having to have a tv in there) Even though we warned hotel/told in advance that the wedding party would be coming back to the bar at about 11pm it wasn't manned as there was a function in another area. The one man that eventually appeared was helpful and cheery but could have done with some help. There must have been at least 40 of us and most staying at hotel so a little more attention would have been nice. The crowd gradually dwindled but the last of us stayed till 3am so the poor barman had a real night of it with us and coped well in the circumstances.
All in all a good venue, plenty of parking, pleasant staff - if not enough of them and good rooms. The older part of hotel full of character, newer wing just that and can be a bit of a trek if your room is at furthest end.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for ground floor if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleet
6.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Fleet M3
Days Inn Fleet M3
#3 of 4 in Fleet
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ely Hotel
The Ely Hotel
#4 of 8 in Camberley
596 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,030 reviews
5.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hook
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lismoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismoyne Hotel

Address: 45 Church Road, Fleet GU51 4NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fleet
Price Range: $82 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lismoyne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lismoyne Hotel is in the heart of fleet and is easy walking distance from the town centre. The hotel offers a warm welcome with a friendly service. Lismoyne Hotel is a beautiful town house building dating in part back to the 18th century, situated just off the historic town of Fleet, Hampshire. A tree-lined driveway leads to this stunning property, complemented by beautiful English gardens and overlooked by a 300-year-old sequoia tree. All 62 bedrooms are individually styled, with some rooms in the original building having roll top baths and four poster beds whilst other rooms have views of our beautiful garden. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities. Our Head Chef has created a range of delicious, seasonal menus in both our restaurant and bar. Wherever possible the produce is locally sourced, ensuring our guests have a truly enjoyable meal in our restaurant or when choosing a traditional favourite from the bar menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lismoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismoyne Hotel Fleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing