We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Fleet”
Review of Happy Hour - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy Hour
Price range: $18 - $27
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Fleet”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have been to Wala Wala on numerous occasions and can't say a bad word about the place. The food is excellent, lots of choice on the menu and is not greasy as you can find with some chinese'. We are always made to feel welcome and the service is excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_18uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our preferred chinese. Always top food and service”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The other half and I love this place. She has lived in the area for 3 years, me for 1 and I must say, we don't like going anywhere else for a chinese.
The food is absolutely amazing. We cannot say 1 bad thing about it. The more you order, the less quantity you get so you can try everything and anything off the menu without wasting or ordering too much. If you finish a dish and want more, ask for more! Simple!

I see a lot of other reviews talking about bad service. We can honestly say that we haven't had any experiences like that ourselves. They were very pleasant and friendly.

Our only gripe with the place (that we usually laugh about) is the decor and music. The same mixed tape plays about 7/8 songs and repeats. This has been the same since we both can remember. It is rather funny that they haven't changed it. The decor is also rather poor. It feels like more of a breakfast café than it does a chinese restaurant. Come on, give us some vibrant reds and pictures of dragons! :)

They have nailed the most important aspects of making a great restaurant. Quality of food/service and price. If they just updated their music collection and redecorated, this place wouldn't be beat in the area!

Recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melkorxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot tasty Starters but cold service”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Have to agree with most reviews on here. The starters are good but typical. Nothing different except the Mongolian Lamb which is very tasty. Duck is average and usually cold but mains are very poor.

The main problem with this restaurant is the service. Unfriendly, unwelcome, sometimes rude. They seems to want you in and out between the hours of 6-10pm and if you dare go past 10pm they stand at the entrance and stare at you. Sometimes the bill is slammed on to the table without having asked for it.

Dare you complain about anything then be prepared for a stand off.

Ask them to take the 10% service charge off. Its outrageous!!!

Oh and they constantly top your drink up in an attempt to get you to order more drinks at very high prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lousy service, great starters and duck.”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Have to agree with most reviews on here. The starters are good but typical. Nothing different except the Mongolian Lamb which is very tasty. Duck is average and usually cold but mains are very poor.

The main problem with this restaurant is the service. Unfriendly, unwelcome, sometimes rude. They seems to want you in and out between the hours of 6-10pm and if you dare go past 10pm they stand at the entrance and stare at you. Sometimes the bill is slammed on to the table without having asked for it.

Dare you complain about anything then be prepared for a stand off.

Ask them to take the 10% service charge off. Its outrageous!!!

Oh and they constantly top your drink up in an attempt to get you to order more drinks at very high prices.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NO PROBLEMS AT ALL”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

10 people had a great meal...no hassle..hot food...good service...great variety of dishes.
Never had a problem on any of my numerous visits to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherbertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Hour also viewed

Fleet, Hampshire
Crookham Village, Fleet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing