We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Easy to find if you look for the Monkey Puzzle restaurant sign. In a non-residential area - quiet - with no discernable noise from outside.
Plenty of free parking.
Noise insulation between floors is NON-EXISTENT - woken shortly after 05:00 by occupant in room above. Could hear every footfall, doors closing, water running. Have absolutely no idea what constituted a "Good Night's Sleep" but being woken so early wasn't my idea of one! No comment from check out staff other than "it's a problem that's been reported to Head Office a number of times"!
Hadn't realised when we arrived quite late that noise insulation was so poor (our apologies to the occupants above if we disturbed your early night)!
Facilities in room quite "budget". Kettle - very small for potentially 4 occupants of a quad room - took forever to boil. Only 2 small mugs & 2 glasses provided.
TV quality was good - plenty of programmes and good reception.
King size bed too firm & pillows (even those marked 'firmer') too soft. Day bed not too bad but underbed spare felt like it was just a base and was missing a mattress. Room was certainly large enough to have used both singles.
Room reasonably decorated (clean & bright, if a bit clinical) and temperature (set at 21) was comfortably warm, though it would have been nice to have been able to securely open a window if only a fraction as it felt very airless.
Back of bathroom door had 3 large holes in as if hooks had been ripped out.
Plenty of hot water - sufficient for 3 to have baths one after the other.
Cussons soaps in dispensers was a nice touch.
Heated towel rail with sign warning "this towel rail can get hot"! - though it didn't really get past luke warm for us.
Check in lady was very friendly and quick to provide bedding for the single bed which, despite booking the room for 3 people, hadn't been made up.
This was a last minute booking but I was annoyed when, as the booking engine had gone down when I tried to book the night before, when I finally managed to get onto it the following morning (the day of travel) the price had gone up £5!
Arrived too late and left too early to take advantage of the on-site Brewers Fayre (the Monkey Puzzle) but imagine it's very similar to all the other Brewer's Fayres in the UK.
All in all not a bad experience - it was convenient for where we were going the following day and was an OK stop-over, but I'm not sure that I would want to stay for any length of time though...

Room Tip: Not sure, without improvement in internal noise insulation, that there is a "good" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank She2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 417 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

we have stayed at this premier in many times and always found it to be to our liking. this time however things had changed Rooms still ok clean and tidy but the beds not as comfortable as we remembered. Location good as near to farnborough airfield and also approx 10 mins from Aldershot,quiet for such a location. Staff always pleasant and cleaners cheerful. No biscuits in room and only the min tea, coffee, milk and sugar for no of guests in rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DairyJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not at all comfortable. The rooms feel as if they've been designed for the convenience of the cleaners rather than guests. Cold, sterile, uncomfortable, The bathrooms are more like public toilets.

The restaurant had an indian buffet which was bland, insipid, pretty much tasteless and in part not cooked properly. Possibly the worst I have ever had.

Room Tip: Ask for one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Premier Inns are fast becoming my favourite business hotel and this one is ideal for my trips to farnborough. Good spacious rooms very clean and good value for money in my opinion. Having the monkey puzzle attached was great for convenient food and whilst not great it's pretty good for pub food. All in all I would recommend this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superdave80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm used to staying at Premier Inns as the company I work for use them. This was another impressive Premier Inn. I thought I would be distracted by the planes and the airfield but I hardly heard them. The receptionist called Kelly I think was very helpful. The light in the bathroom was out and Kelly made sure this was replaced quickly. I had something to eat in the restaurant next door and it was an nice meal, nothing special. I was very impressed with the room I had. The armchair and little coffee table was a little added touch that made the room feel homely. The room was clean and as always had the spare pillows. I liked that the room had hanging space and shelves as I find these useful for storing bags to keep them out of the way.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A pleasant and comfortable stay. Would be good however, if the adjacent restaurant could improve their cooking! The restaurant is next door so is ideal to use but our food was not fresh or well cooked.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nine of us stayed at this Premier Inn for our visit to Lego land which is only 30 mins away. The staff were excellent very friendly, and the room was very clean and comfy good value for money.We ate in the Monkey Puzzle adjoing again the staff were excellent and the food very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
1,513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Fleet Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aldershot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel

Address: Ively Road | Southwood, Farnborough GU14 0JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot if you're heading to the annual Farnborough Airshow, just five minutes down the road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Farnborough Hotel Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing