We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Busy Saturday Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Farnborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Busy Saturday Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

When I checked in at 1600 on Saturday 8 June, I saw a wedding car & a sign for a 21st birthday party. Great I throught, no sleep tonight then !. I left around 1800 and return at 1900 to find the reception area full of people & loud music in one of the function rooms. I made my way back to room 228, which is at the far right side of the hotel. From here there was no noise at all !!. I was suprised and pleased. My window only viewed the edge of the carpark & some industrial units, but stuff the view I wanted sleep !. The room was large & comfortable through not the newest of buildings. There was very little noise at night, so no complaints. When I left there was a coach in the carpark, so I guess they had stayed the night also. From what I heard that night, I could have been the only one there !. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFarnborough, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear sharla82

Thank you for the time taken to review us on Tripadvisor and the great feedback provided.

I am glad you found the Hotel to be quiet and comfortable during your stay and was pleased to know that you would stay with us again when in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    218
    129
    44
    27
See reviews for
181
103
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently held our wedding reception here and were very pleased with the service and the price. We had good communication with the event planners who were very helpful and made sure everything was well planned. We choose the front room because it was light and airy and the 3 sections suited our needs: when it was all laid it out looked great. The food was good - (the only comment being the pate starter was rather large!), the service was smooth and timely. As others have said the rooms are clean and comfortable, but fairly standard, but the fact that the main part is an older more traditional hotel gives the place a touch of class that not all HIs have.

Overall we found this to be the best and the cheapest venue for a wedding reception in the area and we were really pleased with our choice. Thanks to the staff for making sure we had a great day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFarnborough, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Alan R

Thank you for your reivew on Tripadvisor. It was a great review and one we all enjoyed reading. We are glad that the hotel lived up to your expectations on your special day and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have visited the area several times recently, but never stayed at the HI Farnborough as it was far more expensive than the surrounding hotels. This time, I figured I would find out why.

The exterior didn't disappoint, it looked like a country house hotel. The receptionist was excellent, friendly and efficient.

The staircase to the room, though it looked nice, was pretty impractical if you were carrying any luggage. The standard room was typical HI, functional but not exceptional.

Dinner in the bar was very good. The service was excellent, the food good and the price was Ok.

Breakfast was a big disappointment. There were lots of staff clearing tables, but it took half an hour to get a pot of coffee. The hot breakfast serving area had heavy earthenware lids over the food, but nowhere to set them down!

It's a nice hotel with mostly excellent staff and service, but it's not worth the premium price they charge. I can stay in central London for less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfranks733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear pfranks733,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am sorry for the shortcoming you have experienced. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for many years. For about 50% of the time this has been to my regret. The rooms are noisy and food poor. It has never been an issue to move my room but I have to do it all the time. For the price this is a "no stay" hotel for me. The difficulty is that it may be the only hotel with availability in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightstuffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFarnborough, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Wrightstuffff

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay with us and are disappointed to read your review. As TripAdvisor does not provide us with your full name, please contact me directly so that I can obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Once again, we regret that your experience with us this time was not favourable and hope we may have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Farnborough.

Kind Regards

Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stay at this hotel over bank holiday weekend, booked 2 rooms for a party of 5' family room was brill but our double room was outdated and very dark, if you book a double room they class this as a standard room so you don't get all extras that a family room get strange it may be but they don't tell you this when booking. Staff was fab pool great apart from the room everything was very good

Room Tip: Only book a family room to get best room with all the extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFarnborough, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Terry H

Thank you for your review of our Hotel and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities and staff to be very good.

I am pleased to say that an investment has been agreed by the owners for an update of bedrooms and replacement of furniture in 2013 (dates tbc).

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind Regards

Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was great, clean rooms and very good service, the staff can't do enough. I was unfortunate enough to have the air conditioning in my room and pour water all over the floor...having reported it the hotels response was excellent in getting it repaired while I was at work and upgrading my room as a result.

Only downside is I was disappointed in the restaurant, I ordered the steak (as did my colleague) and both were not great quality steaks.

Otherwise this is a perfectly pleasant hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trh217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFarnborough, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear trh217

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Farnborough. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and service to be to your satisfaction.

I have noted your comments with regards to your meal and have fed this back to the Head Chef for immediate action.

Many thanks once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Sunday 12th May. Arrived with two tired children aged 4 and 8 for a trip to legoland. On arrival both children were given a goodie bag which they loved and the check in was quick and efficient. After settling in we went to the pool which was quite small but perfect for us to swim and play in for an hour. The next morning we had breakfast which had an excellent choice and my 8 year old especially loved making pancakes from the pancake machine.On checkout we were given freshly make cookies for the children. The hotel was clean with spacious rooms and first class staff.Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caro123131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFarnborough, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear carol123131

Thank you for the time taken to review us on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us so much and would provide a great recommendation for future travellers.

Shortly, you may be sent an on-line guest satisfaction survey and it would be greatly appreciated if you could take a few moments to complete this and reflect your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aldershot Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Farnborough

Property: Holiday Inn Farnborough
Address: Lynchford Road, Farnborough GU14 6AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Farnborough 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Hampshire/Surrey border with easy access to the M3/M25, the Holiday Inn Farnborough is a great choice for a weekend break for visiting Birdworld, Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Wisley Gardens and Aldershot Military Museum.The hotel is within walking distance of FIVE, the South of England's new premier conference venue, the Farnborough Air Show and the Aldershot Army Show, and is two miles from Rushmoor Arena, which hosts the annual South of England Tempest Rally among other events.This Farnborough hotel offers guests comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms, with high-speed Internet access and full use of the Spirit Health Club with its pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and well-equipped gym. Our newly refurbished restaurant offers varied menus with daily specials and themed menus once a week, and light bites are served in the lounge. Kids stay & eat free.*We take pride in delivering an efficient, friendly service for conferences, private parties and weddings. Our 10 meeting rooms offer scope for flexible programmes and events for up to 180 delegates/guests.See the hotel's package page for special overnight packages, hotel offers and our monthly theme/tribute nights.*Terms & conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Farnborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing