We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay - but changes needed.”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice stay - but changes needed.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Falcon, however, there were a couple of things that would make it better.

The room was beautifully decorated, and it was great being opposite the airport, the service was lovely and breakfast was very nice.

Negatives; the shower door was fixed, so to turn the bath taps on you need to get in the bath - was difficult for us as a young couple, so certainly wouldn't suit anyone elderly or with physical needs. The toilet wouldn't flush without putting the seat down and bathroom was generally small.

Room was very clean and comfortable, although a bottle lid was on the floor; and the bed only has sheets, not duvets. I requested a duvet, which wasn't available but they provided us with an extra blanket.

Good value for money, and a nice stay overall.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
40
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely hotel. Reception from front of desk was warm and very helpfull. Breakfast was veey nice with a varied selection. The room was clean and very relaxing all in all excellent value for money.having read the previous reviews I have to wonder if the less happy reviewers where staying at the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Chose the Falcon for three reasons, Easy Access/Free Parking/WiFi availability
Access is fine(10mins off M3)
Parking No Problem (though not secure)
However, on check in was informed Wifi was not available!!!!(The Swan pub over the road has free WiFi and very good food)
So, Check in was ok, no real issue other than the mandatory receptionist whose 1st language is not English
Room itself very comfortable and room 21 is a spacious family room
Did not have a dinner or a drink in hotel as lack of WiFi effectively made the decision to dine in the "Swan" pub. However, bar area did seem to be sparse and i got the impression the Falcon does not want to encourage a "Bar" clientele
Restaraunt doubles as breakfast room and is simply,yet tastefully, furnished and is also light and airy( which is a welcome change)
If the standard of food served at Dinner is anywhere near the standard of breakfast then this must be a treat for diners,
Would not hesitate to use again,just a shame the Wifi issue cropped up
As i spend a lot of time away from office Wifi is a must and i so dissapointing when not functioning

Room Tip: Rm 212 is a family room if you like lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for a 2 night stay found the hotel staff very welcoming and helpful The hotel would benefit from a bit of TLC. Just little things would improve the appearance. The breakfasts was great in a well equipped dinning room but no other food was available so had to eat out. Room was ok but on the whole clean a lick of Paint on the windows would improve the appearance and double glazing would reduce the traffic noise. The bed was very hard and there was no lift to the 2 nd floor. No porter was available to assist with cases.
The stay was value for money and would stop again this hotel as loads of protential

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very convenient location, and surprisingly quiet even in road-side room (excellent secondary glazing). Helpful, cheery staff on reception (less so in breakfast room...).

Check in ok, but a bit slow as receptionist was very over-worked: she was also running the bar and various other functions. V good humoured, nonetheless.

Room adequate, but somewhat bizarre decor. Bathroom adequate, perfectly clean. Bizarrely, heat proved to be a real issue: arrived on very cold Feb night on business trip - the room was so hot I had to open the window and switch off the radiators to stand any chance of a decent night's sleep.

Bar small but fairly well-stocked. Sadly, no bar snacks other than crisps, or room service - so make sure you eat before you arrive. Also odd and annoying payment system that seemed incapable of allowing bills to be charged to the room (ask about this at check-in first).

Decent-sized breakfast served by rather grumpy person - but then, I'm no better at 7 AM.

Overall, just a serviceable hotel - no major problems, nothing special either.

Room Tip: Road-side rooms well soundproofed - just make sure you switch off heat !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

l absolutely love this boutique hotel the newly refubished superior rooms are beautifully decorated with a fantastic new bathroom and power shower. Second time staying here and would definitely stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

When I arrived I was presented with a tiny room that was so brightly decorated that it persuaded me not to drink that evening as waking up with even the mildest of hangovers in such a garish room would be too much for anyone to cope with.

I felt very claustrophobic in the room, the fact that the furnace-like radiator couldn't be turned off didn’t help.

When I complained they kindly offered me a room that was much more suitable. Beautifully decorated and spacious. As much as I was thankful for this, I couldn't help feeling that having booked a deluxe room that I should have received this room to begin with. I'm glad my company was paying and not myself as the same value for money didn't correlate between two rooms which were supposedly of the same standard. For £90 one room was at an appropriate price, the other would be over priced at half that amount.

The breakfast however was very good, a high quality sausage always helps - lets be honest. I wouldn't chose to stay there again if I was visiting on business again unless it was my only option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farnborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: 68 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing