We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gurkha Palace is our family favourite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurkha Palace

Gurkha Palace
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire
2 reviews
“The Gurkha Palace is our family favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Quiet ambience but really great food! Perfect for dining in or takeaways! The staff are always really welcoming and friendly. It's definitely a hidden gem on the main road.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny13Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    102
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but quick and tables very close...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visited with my mother & daughter, our first impression was that the tables were extremely close - so much so that when we left, the people next to us had to move their wine glasses so that we didn't knock them over!
The food was excellent, although they served it far too quickly - we had not finished our poppadoms when they brought the onion bhajis & main meal. This said, the waiters were very nice & the restaurant would be perfect on a night when you want a nice curry in under an hour... it was just not what we expected: we thought it would be more of a night out
The price was reasonable which is always a plus, just remember the restaurant is nepalese, so the menu differs from traditional indians, but the dishes are an enjoyable change

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table here as staying at a local hotel for husbands birthday. From the minute we walked in we were treated so very well and they couldn't do enough for us. First time eating Nepalese cuisine and will not be the last, the food was wonderful and a great selection on the menu. To round the evening off we had a lovely coffee and couldn't even manage a complimentary extra we were offered (just wanted to lay down in a dark room and sleep off my food coma).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tallulahSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I visit this restaurant quite regularly and it never fails to impress. Good food at a good price with excellent staff - what more could you ask for! Try the Sunday buffet - you'll love it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The food here is really good; varied and well cooked. It is Nepalese with an Indian bent. The menu is very varied and I found it quite over powering to decide what to select. However the staff are very helpful. I followed their recommendations and was not disappointed. I do not like very hot curries and the emphasis here is on spice and taste.

It is busy in the evenings and so booking is essential. I really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Palace also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to Gurkha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing