We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YET TO BE DISAPPOINTED”
Review of Gurkha Palace

Gurkha Palace
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“YET TO BE DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I must admit there is a downside to this restaurant ..... it is always packed and I sometimes forget to book and have to wait. That's the price you have to pay when word gets around about this hidden gem.

I think there is one major improvement they could make and that is to buy the Newspaper Shop next door and knock the adjoining walls down. No doubt they would still be full, but it might knock ten minutes off my waiting time.

Even though this restaurant is miles from my home and I have to pass the front door of several curry restaurants, normally with plenty available space, it's worth going the extra miles for. I have tried in the past all of the others en-route one time or other, only to regret my decision.

WELL DONE G. P. and don't change a thing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Binners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    114
    36
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have been to this restaurant quite a few times over the last few years and have unfortunately witnessed the quality of the food decline with each visit.

We would thoroughly recommend not partaking in the buffet that they do on a Sunday. The food is of substandard quality and the meat quite tough. We do appreciate that buffet food can not be the best because of the amount of time it spends sat on hot-plates but even the table next to us we're laughing as they were trying to saw a samosa.

On another occasion they cleared all the furniture out of the restaurant just leaving us sat in an empty room eating our food. For this occasion we can only thank them that they didn't remove the table and chairs we were actually sat on/at!

The food used to be amazing and this would be our restaurant of choice that we would often encourage friends to visit but now we avoid the place and go to the adjacent Indian restaurant, Paprika. For an area with such a large Nepalise population it is such a shame to not have a decent restaurant with the native cuisine.

Please improve your standards Ghurka Palace!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff and management are extremely friendly and make eating out seem as if you are staying at home. The service is first class and make all customers new or old feel welcome. The menu has so much to offer and the food quality is high, offering good value for money. Many recommendations have been given to friends and family, all with very positive feedback made. It's a must if you have not yet experience the "Gurkha palace of farnborough"
Mr P

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best curry in the area”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

our most favorite resturant ever, food is amazing my family live away but everytime they vist they insist that they visit this resturant sometimes more than 1 visit over there stay,also all our friends we introduce to this resturant cant stay away and take there friends my son and partner are regulars too. friendly helpful staff gurkha beers excellent good wine,lovely atmosphere. a must visit you will never want a curry anywhere else, no contest :-) A MUST VISIT there take away food is the best take away quality ever best resturaunt ever G & J Gill

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've been visiting the Gurkha Palace for years and will continue for years to come. Whether you eat in, get a carry out or a delivery the food is always of the highest quality. The staff are brilliant and always make you feel welcome, the menu is excellent and the selection of Nepalese beers go perfectly with the food. Easily the best restaurant in the area and I would reccommend it to anyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Palace also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to Gurkha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing