We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Farnborough
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First I got a room on the second floor with a high number and it was extremely noisy from the bathroom ventilation, even with the bathroom door closed, and the air-condition sounded like an old refrigerator, even if I turned it off. Since there was an extreme suction of air in the bathroom the vent was totally clogged up with dust that had started to mould due to the moist, see picture. The shower temperature controller and the iPhone dock was broken and the drain in the sink was clogged. That was however was cleaned, but the noise forced me to change room anyway. I then got a room on the fourth floor with a low number, and the vent in the bathroom was quiet, and the air-condition was quiet when turned off. However the hotel's main air-condition is placed on the roof so the room vibrates and it sounds like there is and engine running somewhere close by (and most likely it is).
The staff is very friendly and service minded, the food in the restaurant is good and it's nice with a pub and a Starbucks in-house, but I am sorry to say that it doesn't help at all when you can't sleep due to the "infra noise".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    457
    314
    152
    96
See reviews for
250
457
62
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bilston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at other village hotels, so are a bit disappointed with this one. Stayed Sat 12th October. First room given had been used by a smoker so changed to another. Stayed on upper deck. Disappointing room design in 428. Room was on the small side. Coffee/tea making tray was on a small table but no adjacent socket, so pointless location. Not enough hangers spaces for towels after use. WC door faulty keeps swinging open unless you lock it shut. Toilet tissue holder too close to WC seat. Bed a bit small for two to share.
Breakfast went down 915, queued out. Took 15mins to get a table. Buffet trays squashed into a corner, meaning there is an awkward flow of folk trying to serve themselves. No glasses for juice were available when we went up.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhouse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I usually stay up the road in the Aviator but due to lateness of my booking had to stay here and I was on the whole disappointed.

Checking in was a bit fraught as they couldn’t find the reservation initially, the pub was quite noisy and boisterous and after a long day traveling all I wanted to do was get to my room. The room wasn’t particularly clean or well-appointed for the cost and the sheets made me feel a little ‘icky’ getting into them.

In conclusion, although not a total disaster I just didn’t leave with particularly fond memories and will be trying somewhere else locally when I next visit the UK

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farnborough hotels

Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a night here whilst visiting relatives. I didn't like it at all. Very dark and dismal. Room wasn't spotlessly clean - we stayed in the more expensive top deck. Very poor for the price. We didn't book breakfast - thank goodness. When we checked out there was a queue of at least 20 people waiting at the dining area to be seated. I'd have been furious about that. I didn't like the casual way the staff were dressed. No way of knowing who was who. The foreign girl on reception was far too chatty for us, even intrusive, asking why we were visiting, where we were from, how long are we here for...it just went on and on......it wasn't necessary. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is nice for business stay especially if one is going to visit the companies nearby. The hotel is clean. The room are somewhat large. The lobby is welcoming. It is a little pricier. Breakfast was good but not exceptional.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W6
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

1 night get away trip, comfortable room, great Starbucks amenities. Pool is great and apart from the extremely loud music coming from the bar the dinner in the restaurant was lovely.

breakfast however was below poor. tables were dirty, massive queues paid extra for breakfast but no one was even checking,cutlery was missing as was milk on the tables.

Room Tip: go for an upper deck room, higher floor and better quality rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_270789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

During short business trip to Farnborough, spent single evening in there. Overall, clean and quiet lobby/reception area, complete with a Starbucks and bar (probably the only one open till late hours in the entire neighborhood). Rooms are decorated in an odd style, sort of modern and minimalist, but furniture showing signs of waring off. Biggest issue: there was no furniture or wardrobe space to place my suitcase and open it. The room is not short of space for a small stool either... Breakfast was standard (British). Didn't have time to use other amenities ... The lately rate was rather high, so overall I don't think it was worth such high bill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
4.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Farnborough

Property: Village Hotel Farnborough
Address: Village Hotel Pinehurst Road | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Farnborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Farnborough is located just off the M3 motorway, only 1 mile from Farnborough Airport and Rail Station and just 38 minutes to London Waterloo by train. It is also close to the M25 and M4. Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Village Hotel Farnborough has 123 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Farnborough Hotel Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing