We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding venue in Farnborough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Farnborough
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
2 reviews
“An outstanding venue in Farnborough”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There are only a few things I look for in a Hotel....comfort, good service and value for money. Without a doubt, De Vere Village meets all these expectations and far more.

My fiance and I visited here on Valentines night for an offer they were running and in the words of my better half, it was the perfect night. The service from start to finish was exceptional. We were welcomed by the front of house staff with professionalism and friendliness. They efficiently allocated our room and dealt with all the payment etc. with grace. En route to our room on the 4th floor, everything was in immaculate condition. Funky lift, clean carpets, well signed. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the Upper Deck rooms which are simply beautiful. Modern but comfortable. All the mod-cons you would need be you a business visitor or someone like us, just there to enjoy a night.

Once settled in, we went down to The Victory Chop house for our booked table at 7pm. We were greeted by the manager and seated promptly. The food was some of the greatest we have tasted even though it was part of a set menu for the night. Fresh, full of flavour and well presented. Ross, the Head Chef, and his team have done an outstanding job at making this in to a restaurant that stands out as its own entity within a hotel which is extremely hard to achieve.

From here, we moved across the reception area in to The Victory Ale House. Again, great service, clean surroundings, perfectly served drinks, comfort, pool tables, music at good volume.....it could go on. Are you getting I like this place?

What I love so much about this hotel is that you have everything you need under one roof. Excellent rooms, outstanding restaurant, great integrated pub, Starbucks and finally a brilliant leisure complex. We visited this in the morning for use of the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. It seemed more feasible to use these facilities after the amount of wine from the night before! However, the gym looks incredible, when not hungover! Something a lot better for the hangover was the breakfast served in the Chop House. I'm always dubious of buffet style breakfasts but this one lived up to the expectations already set by the kitchen team. A wide range of continental food alongside some really good Full English options. I destroyed a couple of plates full!

The staff really did make this trip such an incredible experience. Thank-you to everyone at The Village, particularly to Danielle for all her help.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to the Upper Deck for some extra niceties! Sky Movies, Starbucks coffee, iPod d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smassink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    467
    322
    161
    101
See reviews for
260
475
64
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good Service, Soup was a little late in arriving - just about to complain and a free bottle of wine arrived at the table to apologise :) fine by us ! Chicken was delicious - banana fritter and sweetcorn bread, unusual and yummy.

worth a try especially if you get a voucher for discount via travel zoo...... !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Been here twice now. Service in the restaurant has been excellent. The food exquisite - had salmon starter and "posh" fish chips and peas as a main meal. Was excellent. Chef delivered exactly when I needed it - which was amazing as I asked for a 10 minute gap & got exactly that. Waiters are really happy and it shows! Nothing seems too much trouble. How does the single chef deliver top,rated food all evening? It is a mystery. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diff-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well what can I say am always a fan the the Devere hotels , venues and products, Great value for money , a nice friendly and welcoming facility, and staff, Went to the Victory Grill for dinner and wow had the rack of ribs a full bucket and could not finish the food was abundant and tasty,Service was exceptional, The rooms are well presented , and modern, had sky tv but mainly sport channels , geared of for sports fans, but it would be nice if the had main stream sky channels instead as not everyone is a football fanatic, The beds were a dream very comfy, would recommed to any local or away traveller.

They have a health club which nice but at peak times the car park is saturated with none guest could have done with a seperate cark park for the members and guest as when i arrived on a sunday there were no car park spaces and had to wait.

Great deals on their website .

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room without the view to the car park, Plenty of parking if not checking in at peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel and must say that I was very disappointed. The designers have got it all wrong for a start. The whole decor is dark and unappealing. We nearly drove right past the building as it doesn't even look like a hotel. I thought it was some sort of industrial building. I think they're trying to be young and trendy .. but failed. The staff "uniform" is jeans, rugby shirts and trainers. I didn't even realise at first that they were staff, as they looked like they'd come in off the street.

They also have "issues" with the building. The rooms were freezing. I struggled trying to understand the temperature controls, which are placed below waist level and difficult to read in the very dim lighting. It was only after sharing my experience with my colleagues did I discover that the hotel was having problems with the heating and that nothing I could have done with the in-room control would have helped. To be fair, though, the hotel supplied portable fan heaters as an emergency backup.

Another issue seems to be the plumbing. I found that, when someone used a tap or flushed a toilet in another room, it sounded like a foghorn going off.

When I arrived my room was extremely dark ... I asked reception how to turn on the lights and they sent someone to show me. It turned out that four bulbs needed replacing. Even when replaced it was too dark. The soap dispenser in the shower didn't work, they said they'd sort it out immediately. When I returned later in the day, it still didn't work. I reported it a second time. They apologised and again said someone would deal with it. ... They didn't. It was still not working when I checked out. You'd would have thought that things like this would be checked before guests arrive.

The first evening we decided to eat in the bar. Initially there was reasonable background music. Later, a football commentary came blasting through the speakers (it turned out that there was a TV screen at the other end of the bar). It was impossible to hold a conversation, so we had to de-camp to the foyer. There, of course, we had to suffer an arctic blast every time someone came into the building. Yes, some pubs advertise Sky Sports .. but I don't think it's appropriate in a hotel .. we're not all football fans! Needless to say, we didn't eat in the second night!

The breakfasts are reasonable, but again they have issues. I had to send milk back because of 'bits' floating in it. The replacement milk also had 'bits' floating in it. That went back too. Third time lucky though. The hot food wasn't .. decidedly tepid. There was a good choice though, so you wouldn't go hungry ... just not up to the standard you would expect.

Given a choice .... go somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor_from_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farnborough hotels

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel has upped it's game, upper deck is better and now competes favourably with its nearest neighbour. However for a real meat experience if Roman is on the grill then have the mixed grill - I have not had a better cooked one, I asked for blue steak and got it as well as the liver and lamb cutlet - so much so that I had it again the following night but alas Roman wasn't on but the meal still scored a 9

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatboyriding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A group of us went to one of the Xmas parties at the hotel. We paid £40 each for a ticket which included a 3-course meal and disco until 1.00am. I also paid an additional £60 for a room for the night. So this review covers the party, the food and the room.

The Food

Absolutely appalling - very small portions, bland and worse than anything I've ever eaten in a hotel. As this meal was packaged with the disco as part of their 'Party Nights', there was enough wine flowing for us not to worry about it but if we'd just been into the restaurant and been given the food we received, we have certainly complained.

The Party Night

Was a full room and a great atmosphere. The DJ played some good music and kept everyone dancing so it's a real shame that the food was such a let down as we'd have booked again for next year. Unfortunately, the food really was so poor that we probably won't bother be back.

The Room

Clean, tidy, modern and well equipped. I thought it was excellent value for money although the standard rooms are a little on the small side but unless you're going to be holding a party in your room, that's not really an issue.

Summary

If I could give each element of my experience, it would be:

Food - 1 star
Party Night - 3 stars (would have been 5 stars if the food had been even vaguely reasonable)
Room - 4 stars

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farnborough hotels
0.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,873 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#7 of 7 in Farnborough
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Farnborough

Property: Village Hotel Farnborough
Address: Village Hotel Pinehurst Road | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Farnborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Farnborough is located just off the M3 motorway, only 1 mile from Farnborough Airport and Rail Station and just 38 minutes to London Waterloo by train. It is also close to the M25 and M4. Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Village Hotel Farnborough has 123 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Farnborough Hotel Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing