We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow"”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Wow"”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, strange looking from the outside but beautiful inside.our room was at the far end 4th floor,which was good as there was a private function on which was very noisy, but we didn't hear it. The room was huge,lovely bathroom, very luxurious, did miss not having glasses to drink our wine, had to use the bathroom ones. The breakfast was fantastic, everything you could want, but both days not very hot. Evening meal was dissapointing though, service very slow, and food not that great, Luke warm again. All the staff were lovely, reception very friendly, and the bar area was lovely to sit and relax in by the fires in big comfy seats, great atmosphere. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    421
    130
    46
    35
See reviews for
160
918
33
454
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

stayed here because of business in the local town. The commuter train takes about 35 min to reach London's Waterloo station, so it's not that inconvenient. The hotel is nicely decorated and the restaurant is good. The rooms are good sized.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsbmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is not far from the airport. It is very modern, with a great design. The room was very clean, spacious, with huge comfortable bed, no issues there. The check in was quick and I received lots of information. Also enjoyed the breakfast. Unfortunately I have to agree with some negative reviews regarding the restaurant. We were quite a large group staying at Aviator, getting our dinner in the restaurant. To make things easier, we chose our meals 2 weeks ahead and provided all necessary information to the hotel. Nevertheless some of our orders were messed up and we had to remind ourselves for ordered drinks throughout the night. The staff was very young, didn't show much interested and made funny faces at each other during our dinner. Not a very pleasant experience.
I would certainly stay again at this hotel as I liked the room very much, however would avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I've had the same poor experience with this hotels evening dinner twice. The latest culminated in taking over 2 hours to receive our main course! I was with a group of 15, pre booked and given a restricted menu because of the number of us. The starters took an hour to arrive, apparently because too many people had ordered food at the same time! An hour later after asking the manager numerous times where our mains were, we were told they were four steaks short and weren't sure what to do, how about letting us know when you took the order? When the food did arrive 30 minutes later it was mediocre and not good value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DBunts46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I stay here quite often. It's a very very nice place. The staff can't do enough to help. The restaurant is excellent. The little gym lets it down a bit, but when I've stayed at the Village hotel around the corner, the really excellent gym doesn't make up for the lesser environment.
It's a good location & handy for most of the businesses in the area. I'd very much recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DrRoosterJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Last week was our 6th weekend trip to the Aviator Hotel in 2 years. We've never stayed in any other hotel more than twice (and even that is rare, as we like to explore). The Aviator, however, just keeps delivering.

If you want luxury, style, short drive out of London and excellent value for money - then this is your place. Each time we've booked the 2 for 1 weekend deal - which includes a three course dinner on one night, and breakfast on both mornings. It is really good value for the level of comfort & service.

The Sky Suite is absolutely worth the extra cost, we've tried each of the room types. The suites are massive, gorgeously designed and so much space. We take absolutely glee in unpacking our suitcases into the beautifully fitted walk in closet at the start of each stay! The bathrooms are very spacious, with a big bath, separate walk in rain shower and very fluffy towels - seriously relaxing. The bed is absolutely huge - a super king, and we find it extraordinarily comfortable - with super soft high thread count bed linen and a gorgeous duvet. The living area has a great L shaped sofa and loads of cushions - perfect for an evening of movie watching (a good selection of free movies). They used to have beautiful Missoni blankets in each suite - not sure where they've gone, hope guests haven't taken them! Also great sound system and a big selection of music - great when you're in the bath - or getting glammed up for cocktails!

We've also found the front of house service consistently first rate. The only comparable reception/management service I've encountered is at Claridges, and that is really saying something! A really personal touch, with the manager taking time to visit our room and immediately remedy a small niggle we had on arrival. Lovely evening turn down service, with candles + chill out music when you get back from dinner.

We make sure to visit the small but really very well equipped gym to counter balance the delicious food, particularly the 3 course dinner - which is excellent. Cocktails are absolutely gorgeous, as is the cocktail bar itself - but the service is noticeably slower than the rest of the hotel - not sure if that is because they've started opening the bar to the public at the weekends. They've also introduced a spa service, which while we didn't book anything this time (we arrived late, and wanted to have enough time for movies + cocktails!) - it is great to have the option to book in for a massage or manicure.

This hotel was a really unexpected find, a lucky last minute weekend away 2 years ago - and now a reliable bolthole when in need of recharging the batteries! Thoroughly recommend.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Make sure you book an airside room if you can, there is something strangely calming about looking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateTravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

On booking I did ask to be seated by a window to be able to see the planes landing, this happened and we were seated by the floor manager. We found the atmosphere and ambience suited to our lunch meeting of friends, this was helped by the table staff did leaving us to settle prior to bringing menu's, and water. We decided to have the set luncheon of three courses for £21, there were 6 choices for each course with each one having a description that made my mouth water. The tables staff throughout the meal were attentive, professional and caring without being overbearing, we were also visited by the floor manager twice to ensure all was satisfactory. There were four of us and we all chose on the whole differing choices which was good enabling all to see the standard and quality, it was all excellent throughout. there is a good selection on wine and we chose the house wine which proved good and at a reasonable price. We enjoyed our time immensely and we were there for three hours without anyone showing concern, will we go back? Yes without a doubt. One point for the hotel to note, on arrival we had to make our way through the smokers, there were 18 of them crowding around the front entrance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payneb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
1,352 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
622 reviews
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,106 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing